Wanted 5820K or 6800K LGA2011-3

Discussion in 'Archived Classifieds' started by sergiup, Nov 25, 2016.

Tags:
  1. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Still looking for a 5820K or a 6800K :)

    Looking for an X99 motherboard (mid/low end) and a 5820K or 6800K - retail/boxed version ideally as I still want whatever's left of the longer 3 year warranty. Thanks!

    Location: London

    ______________________________________________________
    This message is automatically inserted in all classifieds forum threads.
    By replying to this thread you agree to abide by the trading rules detailed here.
    Please be advised, all buyers and sellers should satisfy themselves that the other party is genuine by providing the following via private conversation to each other after negotiations are complete and prior to dispatching goods and making payment:

    • Landline telephone number. Make a call to check out the area code and number are correct, too
    • Name and address including postcode
    • Valid e-mail address
    DO NOT proceed with a deal until you are completely satisfied with all details being correct. It's in your best interest to check out these details yourself.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  2. Lleyton

    Lleyton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Scunny
    Ratings:
    +143
    X99 don't come with the heatsink mate.

    Retail is just the CPU in the box.

    What price do you have in mind for a mobo?
     
  3. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Ah, didn't know that! Was only asking because Intel's warranty seems to imply you need the heatsink (?!) but obviously if there isn't one then it doesn't matter! My bad! Besides, I'd be using a Noctua NH-D15 or similar anyway.

    I've only been looking at the lower-end X99 motherboards, which are under £200 new; so for something pre-owned, I would hesitate to go over £120 to be honest, might as well buy new if I do and have the full warranty.

    CPU-wise, I realised that the 6800K is only £10-£20 more than the 5820K, so I'm open to either; given how much past 5820K's have sold for, I'd say about £250-ish.
     
  4. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Bumpity!
     
  5. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Any interest in an Asus X99 S?

    Edit: I just remembered that I also have a 2309 v3 Xeon. That may cover for now if you wanted it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2016
  6. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Possibly - but I have a feeling you'd want more for them than I'm looking to spend. Also, did you mean a Xeon 2609 v3?
     
  7. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Ah yes, I did mean a 2609 :)

    I'd be happy with £120 for each. I was looking to shift the board so I can swap in another I have my eye on. The Xeon was brought for another project but never used. I did test it in the Asus and it worked with normal DDR 4 and ECC DDR 4.
     
  8. TomScrut

    TomScrut
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,652
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Scarborough, UK
    Ratings:
    +434
    If the OP is not interested I *could be* interested in both. Was the ECC RAM you tested registered or unbuffered? I can only see unbuffered support on the Asus site
     
  9. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think it was this model - M393A2G40DB0-CPB, which is ECC Registered.
     
  10. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Right, let me get back to you on Monday; all accessories etc included with the motherboard? I've already got 32GB DDR4, so I wouldn't need the RAM. Thank you :)
     
  11. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Yep it's boxed and all there :)
     
  12. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Thanks; hope you don't mind the barrage of questions...
    - I take it you've had no issues with the motherboard; do you by any chance have a receipt or invoice for the motherboard for warranty purposes? Not sure if this is done through the retailer or Asus themselves in the UK.
    - Does the X99-S come with an add-in USB3.1 card? I can't see anything about it on the ASUS website, a couple of third party sites mention it though.
    - CPU is a bit slow @ 1.9GHz (even compared to my Q9550 @ 3.9GHz) but I guess I'd need something temporary anyway until something else comes up, and it's a leap of a good few generations anyway so hopefully it won't actually feel slower.

    Thank you!
     
  13. TomScrut

    TomScrut
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,652
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Scarborough, UK
    Ratings:
    +434
    Also note that the 2609 won't overclock. Xeon wise the 1600 v3s (not v4) will as far as I am aware once you get to the 1630. I have a 1650 v3 I want to overclock!
     
  14. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Hah! You've been reading on overclock.net as well then? :D I caught the 'bug' a while ago - I still have a couple of X5470's (and an X5482, bought before I realised that the higher multiplier of the X5470 might actually be more helpful for overclocking), I never got around to actually putting them in and seeing how far they'll overclock. Since my Q9550 is still comfortable at 3.9GHz, I don't have much reason to fiddle either...
     
  15. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    - I take it you've had no issues with the motherboard; do you by any chance have a receipt or invoice for the motherboard for warranty purposes? Not sure if this is done through the retailer or Asus themselves in the UK.

    Its been rock solid! I honestly never had a system so stable. I'm almost a bit hesitant to change out the board in case I introduce any issues. I dont have a receipt, it was puchased over a year ago via eBay - I think a print out from there can be used as a receipt but I've never tried it.

    - Does the X99-S come with an add-in USB3.1 card? I can't see anything about it on the ASUS website, a couple of third party sites mention it though.

    I dont believe it does, but I can check whats in the box when I get home.

    - CPU is a bit slow @ 1.9GHz (even compared to my Q9550 @ 3.9GHz) but I guess I'd need something temporary anyway until something else comes up, and it's a leap of a good few generations anyway so hopefully it won't actually feel slower.

    Yes it is on the slow side and not overclockable as Tom mentioned, but if you wanted something cheap and to get your system up and running for now then its an option.
     
  16. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Thanks for that, puts my mind at ease somewhat! Strange that the X99-S seems to be quite a rare beast - most people apparently chose the X99-A or the more expensive options by the look of it.

    I'm feeling a bit impulsive regardless... A pdf of the ebay receipt would be nice though I hear Asus just go by serial number so it's not critical. Would you take £210 incl p&p (for the X99-S and 2609 v3)?

    edit: if you come into the City (Liverpool Street/Bank) then we could even dispense with the p&p, I'd still be fine with £210?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2016
  17. TomScrut

    TomScrut
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,652
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Scarborough, UK
    Ratings:
    +434
    My issue is I have a Dell T5810 that won't overclock even though the processor is allegedly unlocked!
     
  18. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'm happy to do a deal for both, but I'd prefer to send it insured and tracked which is around £8. If you can stretch an extra £5 to help cover that then I would do it for £215 inc P+P.
     
  19. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    I think you replied while I was editing :)

    If not, £215 sounds grand.
     
  20. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I work in London but come in via Victoria and work around there, so unfortunatley I dont come that way at all. Lunch may have worked to meet but I dont think I'll get one this week...my last week before breaking up for Christmas and its hectic! The joys of IT :(

    If we are happy on postage them drop me a message with your address and I'll send over payment details, is Bank transfer ok?
     
  21. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    PM sent; also added to the PM:
    I won't have time to do anything with the bits before the New Year anyway, so if you want/need time to switch over, I'll happily delay and pay when you're ready, up to you.
     
  22. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Agreed on motherboard + CPU for £215, funds transferred early in the week.
    Hi @HitmanIP7 - has it been collected? Thanks!
     
  23. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Apologies for the delay with this one Serg. Parcel Force were due to collect on Wednesday but failed to show, when I checked the tracker it said they arrived at 4.15pm to collect but I was not home. I honestly dont think the driver even bothered to collect that day - I was sitting in my living room which over looks my front door all day and no one came and no failed collection/delivery note was left.

    I'll be honest and admit I rarely use Parcel Force as I tend to do most post through work, so thought they would just attempt to collect again on Thursday, but of course no collection. I gave them a call that afternoon to be told that I had to re-book and that the collection note the driver left would have told me that...I guess that would have helped if he left one! and it was too late to collect that day :(

    Rather than messing around I've dropped it off myself at the post office this morning and just paid the delivery fee again - new tracking number is FWJS6992511GB. I'll sort out a refund on the online delivery charge later with them.

    Again apologies for the delay, I wanted to get it to your before Christmas, so I really hope they get it there tomorrow.
     
  24. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    No worries, it happens! I'm a bit surprised, they're usually pretty good, but there are always some bad apples. Hope you get the refund!
    Thanks!
     
  25. sergiup

    sergiup
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    Just to say - this looks to have been delivered to my work address as requested, though I won't be back at work until the 9th January. Should all be fine, I'll update when I'm back in the office just to confirm all's well. Thank you! :)
     
  26. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thats great news :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice