580p through 360

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by brandondanger, Jan 1, 2007.

  1. brandondanger

    brandondanger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    dudley
    Ratings:
    +10
    ive just tried my first dvd in my 360 (hd component cable) and the picture is miles better than through my sony dvd player running an rgb scart. but im a little confused, my tv is saying that the input signal is 580p. does this resolution seems high for a non upscalling dvd player, which is what the 360 is... or have i got my wires crossed?
     
  2. noshoulders

    noshoulders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    360 does upscale!
     
  3. Guns_LotsOfGuns

    Guns_LotsOfGuns
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8,179
    Products Owned:
    21
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Tumbling down the rabbit hole
    Ratings:
    +3,312
    I thought that was only through the vga cable though?
     
  4. sammy4499771

    sammy4499771
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    The 360 only upscales through VGA.
     
  5. brandondanger

    brandondanger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    dudley
    Ratings:
    +10
    im running a component cable though, is this an upscaled res? 480 is sd resolutuion isnt it? i did know my ntsc and pal resolutions but its been so long since i had to think about it that im just not sure anymore...
     
  6. sammy4499771

    sammy4499771
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    480 is NTSC format. Mine displays at 576p.
     
  7. brandondanger

    brandondanger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    dudley
    Ratings:
    +10
    yep, 480 ntsc and 576 pal. all i can think is that either my dvd player has been outputting at 480 or the prog scan is making all the difference...:confused:
     
  8. ukkev2000

    ukkev2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    the 576p signal is only 145 y lines off 720p whereas the RGB signal would be interlaced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...