575a or 585a?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Lee James, May 10, 2005.

  1. Lee James

    Lee James
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    What's the difference? I'm guessing the 585a is newer, but newer isn't always better.

    I've heard so many good things about the 575a, I was going to buy it, but U've seen 585a on sale so I thought I'd check that this is the same basic player, only a newer and improved model. Can anyone confirm?
     
  2. Lee James

    Lee James
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I should add, I read somewhere that the 585 supports dual layer discs, and the 575 doesn't. If that's true, can the 575 be tweaked to get it to play dual layer discs? Like updating its firmware or something?

    And does anyone know if there's any difference between 575 and 575a? Does the 'a' matter?
     
  3. gamerfreak2002

    gamerfreak2002
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the latest firmware 575 does support dual layer.
     
  4. rickardl

    rickardl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +127
    Actuallly, I think the DV-575A has always managed to play DL discs
    even though it hasn't been specificied anywhere.
     
  5. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +42
    The pioneer 575 plays dual layer disks, however, i belive the bitsetting type must be set to DVD-ROM when burning it, rather then DVD+R.

    Not sure if the Pioneer will read DVD-R DL as this is very new.... not had the chance to try one yet.
     
  6. Lee James

    Lee James
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't burn my own discs. All I watch on my DVD player are movies and TV shows that I got from the shops. So is this dual layer problem likely to be an issue for me?
     
  7. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nope, brought originals will work fine on both players.
     
  8. lordnoize

    lordnoize
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    including dual layer discs that I buy from a shop..?
     

Share This Page

Loading...