5400RPM vs 7200RPM

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Stone28, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Stone28

    Stone28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    HI all,

    When it comes to Network servers to stream video/audio from, is there much difference in RPM of the drive used. I am thinking of buying Qnap 209. Will I see the difference, or the network (wired) will still be holding down the speed, so no difference?

    Thank for advice,

    stone28
     
  2. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    No difference for streaming stone. If anything I think 5400RPM drives are better - they're generally quieter, use less power, run cooler and in theory, less rotations means potentially less errors (that one's scraping the barrel now as I think the majority of drives are pretty reliable!).

    I'm using 5 x 1TB Western Digital Caviar Green drives (5400RPM) in my Thecus NAS and I'm streaming uncompressed 1080p BluRays over my network with no issues :)
     
  3. Stone28

    Stone28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you S.,

    One think I have to say though........ God DAMN!!!!!! You have a really Nice NAS there......!!! 5x1TB....... I can only dream about something like that...... But finishing my flat now (finally after more then 1 year of struggle),and RJ45 are now in places I wanted them to be.... so now is the time to buy the hardware..... TV, NAS (much smaller though unfortunately), and probably Popcorn Hour....

    Thanks again
     
  4. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    If you can stretch to it, I'd really suggest you go for a bigger NAS; the Thecus is THE best 5 bay NAS out there for the money - £360 delivered! HDDs are dropping in price all the time, so just buy one x 1TB drive and build it slowly from there. With Western Digital's 2TB Green drives almost here, and other 2TB to follow, it's only a matter of time before your 1TB variety are down to £50 a pop.

    I caveat all of the above with...depends what you want to use the NAS for. If it's lots of HD content and you plan on this as a long term project then stretch now to save money later :) However that said, as prices keep coming down it might be economical to buy the smaller one now and just add another - bigger - NAS when the need arises.

    But anyway, have a good look at the WD Caviar Green series :) - assume you'll be streaming over a wired network?
     
  5. Stone28

    Stone28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep, everything is cablet already - it took me awhile but I got there) Are you using cat5e or cat6? And yes t will be for streaming video. And here is another question. If I have NAS then I don't need Popcorn with HDD in it? What do you think?
     
  6. acave

    acave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +35
    Smurfin,

    Where did you get the N5200 for £360 including delivery?

    thanks
     
  7. Stone28

    Stone28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just put in google and you got it on the top of the page ;-)
     
  8. HugoFJH

    HugoFJH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +133
    Not any more - seems to be £490+ everywhere I got a result

    The nearest figure to your price, jumps £110 when you actually load the page (by line on google seems to be out of date....drastically)
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  9. Stone28

    Stone28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. energy80s

    energy80s
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holy God, I paid £116 for a DELL server and that can take up to 5 SATA drives. Under no circumstances would I pay £500 for a NAS server unless it has hard drives already installed!
     
  11. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,393
    There are several different versions of the Thecus - there's the 5200 Pro, the 5200 Rouster and the 5200B. Mine is the B version, which is £360 delivered from Scan :)
     
  12. acave

    acave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +35
    I looked at the pro version hence more expensive. Thanks.

    I may get this or the Qnap 409 pro . . . one day.
     
  13. HugoFJH

    HugoFJH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +133
    thanks for that - I certainly didnt get that at work, and just did another fresh search from home (just to ease my curiosity) and scan wasnt on the first page at all :)

    have you seen a more recent hdd compatability list - scan dont list anything higher than 500GB discs?

    edit dont worry going for the WD green 1TB*2 to start with, along with 1.5TB disc in the pch :)

    I was looking at the B veresion to start with, just scan wasnt coming up on the results :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  14. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    But not everyone wants a server.
     

Share This Page

Loading...