5100 compatability

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ROne, Apr 20, 2004.

  1. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Had the pioneer 5100 for a while now, good results - stuck with the ritek discs and have worked well. However created some discs the other day and i tested them on my pacific (cheapie) DVD player.

    They wouldn't play on the pacific at all, however the same brand of disc created with encore+PA06 plays fine on the pacific being the same disc and DVD-R.

    I know the pacific is a cheap player but we thought it would be a good test bed for an average DVD player, and it will play DVD-Rs from other sources, just not the pioneer 5100.

    Any comments other people's findings?
     
  2. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
    I also have the 5100 for recording and a pacific player as the bedroom player. The pacific has played everything I have thrown at it, Datawrite - Greys, yellows, Datasafe, TDK, + and -. All 7 of the trial pack that you get with SVP! You must be unlucky!!
     
  3. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just a quick one, you are finalising on the 5100 arent you??
     
  4. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yep I am definately finalizing.

    That only leaves the discs to change but I've never had a bad ritek in over 300 discs!
     
  5. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    dicky, could I sent you a disc created on our pioneer for you to test on your pacific - to see if we have dodgy model.

    Let me know and we'll sort something out.
     
  6. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only use Verbatim,TDK and Panasonic discs,but anything recorded on the 5100 plays fine on my Pioneer 656-however,stuff created on the Toshiba rewriter in my laptop,using the same discs,gives picture breakup for a few minutes on the 656,but not the 5100.Numerous playback quirks between discs,recorders and players,mean a 100% success rate across the board will never happen
     
  7. dicky

    dicky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambs
    Ratings:
    +1

    ROne

    I have PM'd you

    Regards
     
  8. ROne

    ROne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    It's looking like our pacific DVD player that is at fault rather than any specific compatability problem between pioneer recordings and the pacific 1002 machine.

    I must thank dicky in helping me out on this problem who tested some of my discs. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice