50m HDMI Active Fibre Optic :: Powered Splitter problem

Colinmh23

Standard Member
Hello all

Please be gentle with me - I'm no techie!

I manage/volunteer at a Sports Club and inside the main bar area I have three BT boxes and 1 x Sky box. These are all connected to individual powered HDMI splitters to feed four screens in the room.

We are planning to reopen on 12 Apr but this has to be outside only so I want to send 1 x BT signal & 1 x Sky signal from the respective splitters back to a 65" TV outside. The distance from splitter to the outside TV will be up to 50m.

I've purchased two 50m HDMI Cables (https://cpc.farnell.com/pro-signal/psg3334-hdmi-50m/hdmi-active-fibre-optical-lead/dp/AV28918) which work perfectly over the distance if taken from the BT/Sky box directly to the TV but when I try to cable via the 8-way powered splitters, I get no signal.

Can anyone tell me if an HDMI Booster would help or another way of running these cables so I can get a signal?

All the best - and thanks in advance for any pointers.

Colin

nigelk1

It could be that the splitter is not providing the power supply required for the hdmi to work. You may need something like this.

Attachments

• 234A67BB-C627-4C57-8AE8-6BC1752D0399.png
    234A67BB-C627-4C57-8AE8-6BC1752D0399.png
    335.4 KB · Views: 16

Otto Pylot

Voltage inserters may work as linked above. Active cables draw a little power from the sink end for the chipsets in the connector ends to work properly. Typically active cables are most reliable when connected directly from the source to the sink, with nothing in-between.

Colinmh23

Standard Member
Thank you both - I've ordered a voltage inserter to try on one lead & splitter. I'll report back.

Noob question - I take it its best to fit it at the splitter end to give the power 'back' to the HDMI lead?

Last edited:

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
‘It is best’ to not be doing the install the way you have :)