1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

506XDE home demo? Anyone with XDE & IScan Ultra?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by JUS, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +211
    :hiya:

    I currently have a Sanyo Z1, Iscan Ultra, Sky +, GC, Xbox chipped for HD and Pio 565 dvd player (component to Iscan no HDMI).

    I'm seriously thinking about replacing the Z1 with a plasma. I couldn't put up with a titchy screen so it'll have to be 50" at least. I've been looking at the 506xde which looks pretty swish but I'm a bit concerned about judder. I intially had loads of judder problems feeding by Z1 with a Briteview so I know how it can ruin a film and I can't put up with it.

    It's all very well seeing sets running HD demos in shops but lets face it, the majority of material I'll pass it will be SD for the forseeable future, even when I upgrade to Sky HD they won't be transmitting everything in HD. Do any shops do home trials? I doubt I'll be able to find a shop with my set-up and I don't have the nerve (unlike loads on here) to spend £3.5k-4k on something I'm not going to be happy with. I realise I could buy then send it back if I'm not happy but I'd rather not go through all the hassle.

    Also, as a side line. Is there anyone out there is a 506xde with an Iscan Ultra. Did that fix the judder?


    Jus.

    P.S. I don't have the money to update to a Iscan HD or HDMI dvd player.
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    506 still judders. For the same money, you could buy a PHD7 panasonic and upgrade to an HD or HD+ and a HDCP stripper when skyHD comes along.
     
  3. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +211
    Always amazed how they can rate a piece of kit so highly in mags with such a major flaw...no..not amazed...disappointed advertising money has such a huge influence. Call themselves technical experts...advertising experts more like...rant over.

    Anyone know where I can get a home demo of a 50" panny ?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Where are you, perhaps someone will show you theirs?
     
  5. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    I'd strongly recommend a commercial Panasonic or Pioneer plasma. The motion judder is only seen on the Pioneer consumer models. The commercial models reportedly don't have this problem (when switching into the frc2 mode).

    The consumer models from both Pioneer and Panasonic don't accept native resolution over HDMI. So they are not a good bet for external scalers. Both the commercial models from Pioneer and Panasonic do accept native rate. I believe the Pioneer commercials accept 50Hz and 60Hz, while the PHD7 Panasonic only accepts 60Hz. So you might better want to go PHD8 Panasonic, because the new HDMI video board (which only works inside the PHD8, AFAIK) adds support for 50Hz.

    The Pioneer commercial has inferier black level to the Panasonic plasmas, and also to the new Pioneer consumers. Hopefully there'll be new commercial models soon with the latest glass to solve this problem.
     
  6. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +211
    I'm in Reigate in Surrey and travel around Surrey & Kent a bit :)

    How do you get hold of a commercial set?
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hmmm, Reigate! I only have the 42", but I'm 10 miles away.
     
  8. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +211
    You've got Retailer under your name. Where abouts is your shop & what's it called?
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I work from an office as I'm actually a custom installer, not a shop as such. Drop me an email if I can help you in any way, I can cewrtainly show you a 'commercial' panel, and explain how you'd set up for such a thing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...