50" Plasma - Samsung Vs LG Vs Panasonic

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Griffin, May 7, 2007.

  1. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK,

    Getting myself a 50" plasma, I would LOVE a panasonic, but realistically the top end of my budget is €2k... So unless they drop dramatically it's probably not going to happen.

    Which leaves me with LG or SAMSUNG. I've seen both (although I wasn't allowed demo my own DVD on them, both looked pretty good (not as good as the panny but we already know the story there).

    Any opinions on which is the best (& why) ???

    Also the room size is about 14' x 12' Is 50" too big for this size room (personally if I could get a whole wall there I would but ye know what the women are like !!!)
     
  2. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I'll also be going for a new upscaling hard drive dvd recorder from the same manufacturer (whichever I choose), is there any out of those named that are region free out of the box or easilly (ie no chips/soldering etc) converted ?
     
  3. adam4478

    adam4478
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +54
    panasonic hands down IMO - you'll get one for £2k no hassle
     
  4. Siamese Cat

    Siamese Cat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +144
    The OP said 2000 Euros, not pounds. Don't know where you live but you can certainly find a 50" Panasonic in this country for about that. Have you shopped around, possibly for the now diacontinued 60 series, how much do they go for where you live?
     
  5. adam4478

    adam4478
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +54
    ah - fair point - sitting a bit far from the screen to have noticed the symbol diference... shoud have bought the bloody 50" myself :)
     
  6. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I'm based in Ireland (Dublin), unfortunatly they go for €4,500 here (that's more than my wife's car cost)
     
  7. adam4478

    adam4478
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    SE London
    Ratings:
    +54
    can't you order one from here and have it shipped over - a 50ph9 is only about £1350 over here and is a very good screen - i guess that would work out a few hundred euros over budget but i believe (not sure-you probably know better than me) that they'll work fine over there!?!?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    a 50PH9 is roughly €2000 as a bare panel PX60/70 are cheaper so may well be worth looking at importing one
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    You could come up with a good deal even if you had to hire a van and book a ferry! Shops are funny about shipping to Eire though, no idea why.
     
  10. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The UK ones have a different tuner, we use VHF & UHF over here, you guys only use VHF (I think)
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Negative, Captain. We are UHF only, plus DVB. If you went for the panel version, it has no tuner anyway. Folks here add a sky box, or a separate DVB tuner.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    If you have cable or satelite it makes no difference if you connect an Eire spec dVD recorder you have an Eire spec tuner
     
  13. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah but we still have the analogue signal here for another 10 years or so. (plus sky is REALLY expensive)
     
  14. lgans316

    lgans316
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12,570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    RM16
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Personally I don't see any jaw dropping improvement in the 10th gen Panny over it's previous generation except for anti-glare and better background detailing.

    Lot of people in the avsforum now-a-days seem to bash the Panny and have been giving good reviews on the latest Samsung Plasma.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    hence the reconmenation to buy a dvd-r to use as tuner
     
  16. Griffin

    Griffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm now leaning towards springing the extra ccash for the 50" pannym but it's so hard to find one on display over here... There's no specialist stores anymore !!

    Is 50" too big (it's never too big is the answer I want to hear) for a room approx 14' x 12' (10' - 12' is the viewing distance)
     
  17. Bumtious

    Bumtious
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Prestwich Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7,650
    Well we have finally got there

    Panasonic slugging it out with Samsung.

    At this price both are good value.

    Just to show I'm fair brought a £70 Samsung DVD for this set, (HDMI input) and while setting it up I discovered something with my PX 70 last night that shows just how far the quality has dropped to hit pricing points.

    Basically this set cant resolve the THX drop shadow or white square test together. You can have one or the other.

    In English you you have a choice, set it one way you crush the whites, set it the other way you crush the blacks. But you cant set it to see both.

    Just to check put it on my 507 and it was fine so its not the DVD.

    As for the reviews with HDTV well, .......use it as a guide but its not very detailed, and brushes only the surface.

    Does this find spoil day to day viewing, not really just shows how the quality is dropping. but neither set is technically very good.

    That just leaves now the Pana pro panels, the Fujitsu's and the Pios at the higher end.
     

Share This Page

Loading...