• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

5 Room Setup- equipment HELP!

zdub

Standard Member
Hello and thank you all for having such a great community to talk about the joys of AV setup.

I am helping a family friend set up her new custom built house with a nice custom home system. I am currently a network tech (mcse cisco net+ a+...) and I already wired up the rj-45 (cat5e) patch's to each room, but I need to get some advice as to what to buy for audio equipment.

SEE PDF diagram drawing of house layout for audio wires. (sorry for my chicken scratches)
http://www.hankerds.com/images/b/av.pdf

I need to:

-Install paired speakers in 4 bedrooms (only r/l) which connect to the main living room receiver.

-Living room with receiver will be 7.1 while all rooms are 2.0 (r/l only no video)

-Install a volume control switch in each of the 4 rooms for their corresponding 2 speakers

-Research and purchase the best choice for a receiver (amp/preamp) rack mount or not, that handles this 5 zone speaker input. (a,b,c,d,e)

-Research and purchase the best choice for speakers (r/l) and (7.1 setup) for living room

-Research and purchase the best choice for volume control switches and speaker jacks.

Done or have:

-using 14/2SHDB Direct burial shielded speaker wire for each room

-using cat5e rj-45 and proper patch/jacks

-have good ol' electrician to help run all the wire the way I tell him to, so I need your input :thumbsup:

questions:

-Is this new sony receiver any good? Sony STR-DA5500ES
New Sony AV Receivers Drive Multi-Room High-Definition Throughout the Home

-Is there anything anyone can see that will halt my entire system idea?
please yell at me and tell me what to do!