1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5.1 Speakers on a $2-300 (pound) budget - recommendations please!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Jak-B, Oct 7, 2005.

1. Jak-B

Jak-B

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to Home Cinema - and you all seem like professionals! I have recently purchased a 'Sky SPDP3205 32" Plasma (simply because it was $700 (pounds) on ebay - and seemed too good an offer at the price)', I want to complete my setup with a 'decent' set of speakers and a 'good' quality amp.

Speakers: I'm after a 5.1 set comprising of Front - Right & Left, Rear - Right & Left, Front - Centre & a Sub. Sound quality is (obviously!) important, as well as appearance - it has to fit in with my living room - so compactness preferred!

My budget for speakers is $200 (pounds) - however, I wouldn't mind paying the little bit extra for quality. I also need a recommendation for a 5.1 amp to run these speakers off of, again my budget is roughly $200 (Pounds) for the amp - I want to get as much Speaker and Amp as is possible for my budget!

I would appreciate anyone's advice or comments, I am totally new to this, and before coming across this site was going to buy the Bose Acoustimass 3 system :confused: ... Any help will be appreciated! :)

Please excuse the $ sign - (just realised why this keyboard was so cheap on ebay!)

2. zag2me

zag2me

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
  3. Troon

Troon
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Check out the Canton CD-101 in the powerbuy on this forum. £290 for a great set of satellites and an allegedly good sub.

4. Knyght_byte

Knyght_byte

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +599