5.1 Speaker Connection help.

lucenut

Standard Member
Hi. I'm new to surround sound speakers so could really use someones help.

I recently got these speakers for my birthday.

Auna 5.1 1200W Max Home Cinema System with Wireless Rear Speakers

10003154_anschluesse_auna_cinema_system.jpg

As you can see they have a RCA input. I've been told i need 3 RCA cables to get it connected to a dvd player. The trouble is i only have a ps3 slim and an old tv which just has a scart and the 3 colour things that my ps3 plugs into.

Is there anyway i can connect these to either?

I was considering buying a new tv at some point but again would have no idea if that would work either. Maybe by an HDMI cable or something?

LG 42LD490 42-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LCD: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

Any help would be appreciated and i dont understand all the jargon either so if you could dumb it down too :D

thanks,

StevieBuck

These speakers are designed for connecting to a DVD/Blu-ray player that has multi-channel analogue audio outputs on it. You'd have 6 individual RCA cables connected between the player and the speakers, not 3 (you may be talking about pairs of RCA cables though?).

In order to connect the PS3 to these speakers and get 5.1 sound you'd need some sort audio decoder. This would be to take the 5.1 signal from the PS3, and convert it to multi channel analogue so you can then connect to the speakers.

Something like this for example:

X-Tatic Sound Control Unit

You'd connect optical from the PS3 to the control unit. Then using 3x 3.5mm jack to stereo phono cables to connect it's output to the speakers.

PSM1

Distinguished Member
I really feel you have the wrong speakers for your application. You could get an AV reciever with preouts but these tend to be on higher models so will not be cheap (at least £300) and really deserve better speakers than those anyway. I know they are a gift but could you return them and put the money towards something more suitable?