1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5.1 sound from PC

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by John Watts, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. John Watts

    John Watts
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +80
    Hi folks,
    There is only the minijack for sound output (is this called SPDIF) ?
    If so can this carry 5.1 sound and again if so where can i get a cable either SPDIF to optical or SPDIF to coax to pipe to digital sound to my reciever.

    At the moment i just use a minijack to stereo phono's but i would like to have digital sound.

    Cheers for any help.
    Regards,
    John.
     
  2. Bursar

    Bursar
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +216
    To get digital sound, you will need either a coax or optical output on your soundcard/motherboard.

    If you don't have either of these connectors, you won't be able to get digital sound.

    Do a search for a Trust sound card. It's been discussed here several times, and will give you digital out for very little money. I have one myself and it works a treat.
     
  3. pc99

    pc99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3
    I bought a used Hercules Fortissimo II card from EBay.
    Got it for £6.50.

    Works a treat.

    Last time I looked there were a couple more for sale.
     
  4. robjohn

    robjohn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    i have a fotrissimo 7.1 which does not send a dd signal, it does send a digital signal to my amp but nothing better than PL2.

    I am thinking of binning it and using another card, I do have a creative one which does not have SPDIF optical or cox out. you have to use the old analogue route which is a shame.

    I have updated the drivers on the fortissimo 7.1 to v2 but still does not work.

    anyone got any thoughts?
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    PLII over S/PDIF news to me? :)
     
  6. John Watts

    John Watts
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +80
    Thanks guys i understand now.
    Regards,
    John.;)
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Rob

    The Fortissimo card can definitely send a true digital bitstream (DD/DTS) to your amp. It will just be a settings thing for sure. You will also need to enable S/PDIF output in the relevant software player and in the Fortissimo control panel. I had one and it worked a treat.

    Remember however, that standard Windows sounds are not in DD or DTS so the Fortissimo card will not (cannot) send those as DD or DTS signals. They will only be DPLII via your amp processing the stereo signal.

    HTH
     
  8. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    It's not actually PLII. It's PCM, and his amp is automatically switching to PLII decoding when it recieves a stereo PCM signal.
     
  9. robjohn

    robjohn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    yeah I know, anyhow ripped that rubbish out and installed a hercules dfire card and sep box for sending signal out, much better sound and at least it works. It was free was the other card and I think it was a budget one at that. This one again was free and sooooooooooo much better on the sound.

    Might give the other sound card (creative plat) away, since it has no spdif on it and thus no use to me.

    Cheers for the help though.

    rob :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...