5.1 Home cinema system <£400

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by kevcfc, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi, as the title suggests, we're after an all in one home cinema kit to replace our ageing, cheapo Lenoxx Sound HT-500.

    It is to go with our Samsung LE40F86 LCD TV, and we will be using it with a Technomate 6900HD sat receiver, Sly+HD & a Wii. If it doesn't come with a DVD player then you can add that to the list;)

    We'd prefer a Samsung (just to go with the TV, but it doesn't have to be) with Tallboy speakers, & with a built in DVD player too, although £300 ish without one wouldn't be a problem.

    Been reading quite a bit about the Sony HTS-F1300, which seems to be well recommended, and looks the part. Would this be OK, or is there a system just as good as this with a DVD player? Looked at a few others to, including some Samsung's, but I'm really not sure what I should be looking for exactly:rolleyes: The last thing I want to do is spend a small fortune on this, only to find I could have got a much better piece of kit for less.

    Hope that makes sense, & that I'm not asking to much. Thanks for reading:D
     
  2. Pontiac

    Pontiac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +64
    Sony DAVDZ260 is worth a look at. Don't be put off by it's cheapness. It's a very good performer.
     
  3. cols

    cols
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +517
    Something like the htss1300, htsf1300, htsf1200, htddwg800, yamaha av63+ would be a good choice...

    All amp & speaker packages with lots of inputs for other equipment...

    They all take LPCM over hdmi, so combined with a blu ray player that can decode hd audio, you'll get dolby true hd / dts hd ma from blu rays...

    A blu ray player such as bdp-s550 will do that...
     
  4. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks, just had a quick look at that but SWMBO insists on the tallboy speakers. Is their an equivalent with the tallboys?

    I've got until Feb 23rd to get something, that's when they come to fit the Sly HD, and I don't want to be taking the TV off the wall again after that cos it's a pain:nono:

    Regards:)
     
  5. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks, I'll take a look at them:smashin: Maybe I can persuade her indoors to get the blu ray....:clap:
     
  6. cols

    cols
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +517
    Well if tallboys are a must, look at the htsf1200 and htsf1300. Both pretty much exactly the same except for cosmetic differences. The former is rarer but cheaper.

    As they are amp & speaker systems you can easily connect lots of different stuff up to them. You have 3 hdmi inputs, 2 optical, 1 digital coax, and a few phono inputs.

    They will decode dolby digital and dts, and also take decoded uncompressed audio (LPCM) over hdmi. I have the 1200 and i'm more than pleased with it.

    The thing with dvd player systems is they have a lack of inputs for other stuff, plus you can't get rid of the dvd player without losing your surround system. Imho it's worth paying a bit more for something more versatile, with better features. It means it will last longer, if it's compatible with all the latest tech (ie blu ray and hd audio).
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  7. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    The only problem now is finding it in stock, it's like finding rocking horse manure:censored:

    I'll persevere and see if anything turns up, thanks for the help:smashin:
     
  8. markie

    markie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    If you find anywhere with stock at not an inflated price, let me know, as I'm having the same issue !
     
  9. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bit the bullet & got a Sony HT-SF1300 from Pixmania :clap:. Not had chance to set it up yet but, just to be sure, can someone tell me if I'm right thinking:

    1) Sly HD box connects to SF1300 via HDMI
    2) Technomate HD box connects to SF1300 via HDMI
    3) TV can connect to SF1300 via optical cable, to allow surround sound via Freeview
    4) SF1300 connects to TV via HDMI

    Would this allow all the above to operate via the surround sound kit?

    Cheers,
    Kev.
     
  10. cols

    cols
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +517
    1) Sly HD box connects to SF1300 via HDMI

    sky don't output 5.1ch over hdmi, so you need an optical cable from sky to the amp. Video from sky can go direct to tv with hdmi.

    2) Technomate HD box connects to SF1300 via HDMI

    don't know anything about these! Does it output surround sound over hdmi? If so, then yes.

    3) TV can connect to SF1300 via optical cable, to allow surround sound via Freeview

    yep.

    4) SF1300 connects to TV via HDMI

    only if you're feeding video to the amp which needs to be passed on to tv.

    Hope that helps / makes sense! :smashin:
     
  11. kevcfc

    kevcfc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cheers, that's made things a bit clearer:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...