1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5.1 for xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by clarkyb, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    hi, my friends dad gave me a 5.1 amp with speakers and sub

    on my attempt to rig it to my xbox i found it had no optical socket and no scart on my amp, and the only 2 leads i can find in game for connecting to an amp are optical and scart

    so is there any way i can have 5.1 sound with this kit? btw i am currently linked up so i get 2.1 sound and sub

    thanks
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,197
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,072
    What you need is the Xbox advanced Scart Cable.

    It has RGB scart for the TV and an optical outlet for the amp.
     
  3. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    thanks,
    but i said i have no optical socket in my amp
    :lease:
     
  4. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Sounds like it doesn't have an in-built decoder. You need an AV reciever with optical input that'll then have 6 outputs into your amp.
     
  5. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    thank you very much
    but how much will one of those cost
     
  6. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +71
    If your 5.1 amp has no optical then it must surely have a coaxial socket, usually orange phono on back of amp. . I dont believe they make a lead from the Xbox to coaxial digital so thats maybe out the question AFAIK.

    As for picture theres really no need to take video signal through amp unless u wish to free up sockets on TV. But if you do need to im sure a Game store or similar will have an Xbox lead to Svideo or Composite.

    Matt
     
  7. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    THANKS

    so as i understand it there is no way i can get 5.1 sound without getting a separate decoder box????? and the cheapest i have seen those are around £50-60 :confused:
     
  8. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    I got mine for £15 or something, no way near £60 !!!
     
  9. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +71
    I would imagine a search on ebay or on the classifieds here may turn up something. I believe I have seen 5.1 systems minus the speakers for less than £30, not sure where though.
    Not knowing the particulars about the equipment you have been given I would imagine your better off finding a cheap 2nd hand system which has SVideo capabilities and an Optical connection. IMHO

    If some other member knows of another solution im sure they will add their tuppence worth :thumbsup:

    Matt

    Matt
     
  10. womble9

    womble9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +64
    Like Malone says if your amp hasn't got a Toslink digital in then it will more than likely have a coaxial in which will be an orange phono socket although in my experience it's far more common to be the other way round. If it does turn out to have the coaxial in then you can (assuming you're ok with this kind of thing and don't mind voiding your warranty) mod your x box using these instructions http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/digital-output.php as i chose to do with mine. Not too sure about the Toslink diagram but the coaxial deffo works just fine and the bits will cost about 50 pence :) .
     
  11. Racquel Darrian

    Racquel Darrian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +392
    Maplin do an Optical to Coaxial convertor if that's any good?
     
  12. clarkyb

    clarkyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    thanks for the help everyone the maplin thing is just what i need (i hope) :smashin:
     
  13. womble9

    womble9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +64
    Either way you'll be glad you did it, the surround effect on some games are superb.
     

Share This Page

Loading...