5.1 For PS3

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by TerryUK, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. TerryUK

    TerryUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hello, I currently have my PS3 connected via Red and White cables running into a converter that i can plug into my line in on my PC. The problem is that the PS3 cannot output 5.1 via the red and white cables, only Optical and HDMI, as I am using a HDMI to DVI converter the only option is to use optical.

    So, I need someone to recommend me a good soundcard that has optical in and that will output to my surround sound system ( Logitech X-540 ).

    Will this setup work? Also I am using Windows Vista and herd only the Creative X-Fi cards work with 5.1 surround.

    Finally, not 100% needed, but is their a way to have it so i can have my PC switched off or on standbye and allow the sound to come through?

    Thanks for your help, and any suggestions are welcome.

    Terry H
     
  2. dogbert

    dogbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    it's not viable. the design of the windows driver model and the implementation of most manufacturers' drivers cause a minimum latency between recording and playback which is too high.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2008
  3. drmattx

    drmattx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    This is a viable solution; in fact I use a similar method. I use the HDMI to go to my TV then the optical out of the PS3 goes into the optical in on my X-Fi Elite pro which is then outputted via the analogue outs to my power amp. I don’t see any reason why it would not work for 5.1 I also don’t notice any latency problems,

    Matt
     
  4. dogbert

    dogbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    PCM can be decoded in hardware, AC3 / dts can't and thus software interaction is required.
     
  5. TerryUK

    TerryUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
  6. dogbert

    dogbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    no, see above.
     
  7. drmattx

    drmattx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can set the optical output of the ps3 to Liner PCM rather than bitstream. So any DD or DTS signal will just be converted to PCM in the ps3 so the soundcard has no conversion to do.
     
  8. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    thats fine if he doesnt mind sticking to 2 channel pcm, becuase thats all spdif is capable of.
     
  9. dogbert

    dogbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    spdif can carry compressed multi-channel audio signals, and some games support this.
    using a PC's soundcard to decode stereo PCM sound is completely senseless since the ps3 has analog stereo ports and the ports from a regular PC soundcard don't have more output power than the ps3.
     
  10. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    compressed multi channel audio over spdif would be DD or DTS. you cant transfer multi channel audio in any over way over spdif, including lpcm. its not possible which is the point i was making - your limited to 2 channel pcm or DD/DTS
     
  11. TerryUK

    TerryUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +68
    Im totally lost, what will i need to listen to my PS3 in Dolby Digital using my 5.1 Logitech X-540 speakers?

    :lease:
     
  12. dogbert

    dogbert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    a cheap dolby receiver should suffice.
     
  13. Jagtar

    Jagtar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    sorry to bump this thread as im in the exact situation as the guy who wants his PS3 to use the X540's surround sound speakers.

    It sounds like i need a "a cheap dolby receiver " as dogbert just said... but as im a complete AVnoob could someone direct me towards one of these devices??
     
  14. Jagtar

    Jagtar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hey

    Could you post some pics of what i should be loooking for when hooking up the speakers to the PS3??

    cheers
     
  15. ElliottC666

    ElliottC666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    im in the same boat here too. I've just bought a PS3 and before hand, i had 7.1. creative 7900 speakers connected to my onboard realtek HD soundchip. and HDMi from my graphics card to my TV. Im looking at buying a sound card anyway and was wondering if i could also use optical out from the ps3, connect that to my sound card and then outsource the sound to my speakers through my computer? Is this possible and would i still have surround sound or just simple 2 channel audio? Would i be better getting the logitec z750's? sorry to hi-jack this thread from the originial poster, just my question seems relevant and i didn't see the need to create another thread.
     
  16. ElliottC666

    ElliottC666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, sorry just wanted to bump this up. Pay day this week and i wanna get this solution sorted this weekend if i can.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2008
  17. danewguy

    danewguy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Yamaha amp that powers my surround sound, I have just purchased a PS3 and connected it to the amp with an optical cable I can't seem to get it to do 5.1 just the 2ch pcm? any help out there?
     
  18. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +134
    hi Danewguy,

    You need to set the output on the PS3 to optical and set the output to bitstream (all in the audio menu on the PS3). You should also ensure that the optical input on the av amp is set up to decode Dolby Digital or dts.

    Brian
     

Share This Page

Loading...