Answered 4K Leads - Do I need To Buy Special Ones?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by BF1, Aug 4, 2018.

  1. BF1

    BF1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    I'm about to install a Samsung 4K HDR TV and connect Apple 4K to it. I'm confused as to whether I now need to buy additional HDMI cables as some posts I've read suggest most existing leads are sufficient.

    My current leads comprise Cambridge Audio and Amazon Basics. Both leads state that they are "High Speed HDMI Cable With Ethernet". The Cambridge Audio lead is significantly thicker with a more quality feel to it.

    Will these carry 4K HDR or do I need a specific type of lead?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #4 by EndlessWaves, Aug 4, 2018 (1 points)
  3. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,658
    Chances are that what you have is fine.
    Try what you have.
    If they work they work.
    If they dont it will be immediately obvious.
     
  4. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +435
    Amazon basics are fine.
     
  5. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,548
    Best Answer
    Leads are just bits of wire, they have no computery bits to care about what type of data you're sending down them. That's only of interest to the devices on either end.

    What matters is that the engineering tolerances in the lead are sufficiently tight to handle a high enough data rate (bandwidth).

    The engineering standards for leads haven't changed*, still being the 'Standard Speed' and 'High Speed' we've had for years. When they tested a a variety of high speed leads (as most are) they found some existing leads exhibited some strange behaviour at the new higher data rates despite meeting the standards. That resulted in the creation of the HDMI Premium certification program as a label manufacturers could pay for to show their lead was capable of working at the higher bandwidths, it hasn't proven particularly popular though.

    So as others said, they should work but there's a chance may not.

    *The very latest HDMI 2.1 did add a new higher bandwidth lead standard for high framerate, 8K and the like but it's not needed for what you want. It goes by the rather confusing name of 'Ultra High Speed', although it's also nicknamed 48G for it's 48Gbps bandwidth. A name which may end up being more often used to avoid mix-ups with Ultra HD.


    Oh, the other thing is that the new higher bandwidth modes (4K HDR etc.) are rated for shorter distances, so if your existing cables are ten or fifteen meters they probably won't work. 5-7m seems to be the practical limit.
     
  6. BF1

    BF1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Many thanks for your replies. I'll do as recommended - see how it goes with my current leads and take it from there.

    I've not seen 4K on a TV before so I assume the difference between the Full HD I have now will be immediately noticeable.
     
  7. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,548
    The extra resolution is past the point of diminishing returns for many typical size/viewing distance combinations. It's mostly there to fill in the gaps for particularly large/close TVs.

    Although there are other technologies being introduced alongside it. You should see a picture quality improvements in many sources that are in 4K, from factors like better bitrate, even if your TV doesn't fill enough of your field of vision to benefit from the extra resolution.
     
  8. im85288

    im85288
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +66
    I started having problems on the Apple TV 4K when playing anything with hdr (sound dropouts and picture losses/freezing) with Amazon basics hdmi cables (tried 2), in that they failed it’s 4k hdr capability checks. I then searched around and found a comment somewhere on this forum saying they had also had issues and realised that the amazon cables are not premium certified. They recommend the Omar’s ones from Amazon which are premium certified and still fairly decently priced (£9), which I then purchased and am happy to say passes the Apple TV check and is now solid as a rock with hdr. My advice then would be to get a premium certified one if your playing back content that’s hdr.
     
  9. BF1

    BF1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's interesting to hear, Fred, because when I bought my current TV I was also running a Cambridge Audio Blu-Ray and streamer as well as Sky Plus and I bought Cambridge Audio leads which, if I remember, were about 30 or 40 pounds each.

    After a while I had problems with sound and when trying to identify the source I changed a CA lead to an Amazon basic costing a fraction of the price I had paid for the CA leads.

    This resolved the issue immediately.

    Now I'm about to install a new 55" Samsung 4K HDR TV and want to ensure I have the appropriate cables hence turning here for advice.

    I saw these leads on Amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00DYQ2BOK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 which I may try if my existing ones are not appropriate.

    I have also bought an Oppo Blu-Ray player which comes with a Premium certified lead which I assume is good enough to show the quality of the Oppo otherwise Oppo will be doing themselves a disservice by including it.
     
  10. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +435
    I'm using Amazon Basics HDMI cables with the kit in my sig, they pass the ATV's 4K checks fine and work fine with every thing else be it HD or 4K.
     
  11. im85288

    im85288
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +66
    Excellent, they appeared to work fine for me too up until I started using tvOS12 (beta version) when it started to have the issues i mentioned (only with HDR content). Anyway it’s the OPS choice in the end but for an extra few quid to get the certified ones: https://www.amazon.co.uk/OMARS®-Pre...able+omars&dpPl=1&dpID=415pb2jN9rL&ref=plSrch I personally would not take the risk.
     
  12. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +435
    Watched Jack Reacher Never Go Back last night via the ATV 4K DV no issues. Not on ATV beta.

    Amazon £7.12 for 3 x 1m excellent value.

    As you say it's the OP's choice. I'm just passing on my own experience.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
  13. BF1

    BF1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Appreciate the replies / suggestions. I looked at the Omars which had many good reviews but several mentioned the same issue with tight fit and damage caused when trying to extract.

    How have you found the cables in this regard?
     
  14. Over by there

    Over by there
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,229
    I bought one of the Omars as a spare. All my existing sources are on "High Speed" and OK (the cheapest certified I could get at the time though now have a few Basics).

    Three 4K sources but I am HDR only, not Dolby Vision however does the TV tell the device not to send it if it cannot use it or does it get it warts n all?

    I also run Beta but I have not seen any issues reported, that is one of the things with Beta. Some will have problems, others not. I am lucky so far.

    Reason I bought a "Premium" certified spare? The cost was negligible to max out compared to a high speed. Fiver or so vs £8 for future proofing that I may not need.

    Do I need "Premium"? Absolutely not at the moment with my working "High Speed".

    Is it in use now? Nope. Spare. Tucked away. "High speed" are working fine.

    Tight fit? Not that I noticed on testing.

    Why did I test it. Not to see that it was better, I will not be able to see if it is with what I have (need specialist kit for that), but to make sure there are no manufacturing defects to return inside the returns window. It worked and as far as my TV is concerned, same as the "high speed".

    Why did I get a spare? Old school thinking from work. Always have a backup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...