Question 4G Home Broadband - queries and download limits

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by agangofgiants, Jun 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. agangofgiants

    agangofgiants
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hopefully someone can help.

    I live on a farm and for yonks I've had to put up with awful, inconsistent broadband speed. Max download speed is about 100kbs, which isn't far from dial up. I've contemplated Sat broadband etc. and had it out with BT several times, but enough of that since I spoke to a nice chap at 3 today about 4g broadband.

    So...despite every other telecommuncations-related thing being crap where I live 4g is great, around 48 mbps download speed consistently. So this is clearly the answer, however as a heavy internet user, the max data allowance is 40gb a month on the Three mobile network, which is about £24 and includes a 4g modem. Now, they offer an unlimited data package on their phone sim, but the bloke told me that this would be incompatible with a 4g router and if it were compatible Three would block the sim. The guy then went on to tell me this was 'being recorded.' So, is there anyway I can get 4g broadband for my poor little house with unlimited download data? Or is Three the best deal?

    Cheers
     
  2. Timalay

    Timalay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    There are very little options I would say. I have heard of people tricking three's connection into not thinking it's not being used as a home wifi, but Three are pretty hot on this as well. Satellite may be your best option, while it isn't cheap, it would probably work out cheaper than a mobile broadband option.
    There is only one mobile 4g unlimited mobile broadband provider, and that is Relish, but that only available in limited areas at the moment (they may roll out further in the future).
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2017
  3. agangofgiants

    agangofgiants
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sadly, it doesn't, it works out far more expensive :( I use NordVPN, but assume this will, ultimately, not protect me as such. I'm not looking to bypass anything as such, just get a larger amount of monthly data!
     
  4. xxGBHxx

    xxGBHxx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +813
    Not that I'm suggesting you break the T's and C's or anything but...

    When you tether your 3 phone on 4G on a desktop, 3 works out you're on a desktop by checking your browser user agent string and if it's a desktop as opposed to a mobile browser they block you and tell you tethering is not allowed. Now I'm sure a bit of sensible searching online might find you the info on how to change your user agent string to the one used on your phone.

    I know that his used to work because "a mate of mine" got it working a few years ago while he was waiting for his new broadband line to get installed. Might not work now though.

    G
     
  5. intrusive r

    intrusive r
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    What was your take regarding his meaning when he mentioned that you were being recorded?
     
  6. agangofgiants

    agangofgiants
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    How else does one take it? :D "It will work somehow, but I can't tell you that." But Google reveals nothing. And I know Three monitor tethering.
     
  7. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,828
    Go for Sim only and get one of these AC750 Wireless Dual Band 4G LTE Router - TP-Link

    The 4G reception is better and you can connect more devices. It also handles wired devices and plenty of more advanced options.

    I think the reason they offer unlimited on the phones and not the Sim only or 4G packages is that they can traffic shape and page cache phone connections far more successfully than they can on open 4G.

    Same goes for the overseas deals. Until recently, these did not apply to data packages, only phones.
     
  8. agangofgiants

    agangofgiants
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    Would I not run into the same issue? I.E. I can't use the data-only phone sim (with unlimited data) as my main 4G home broadband source? From what I've read on-line Three monitor tethering - which technically this would be? - and block it. Or have I misunderstood?
     
  9. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,828
    No, you will need to get a data only sim for mobile broadband, not a phone sim.

    I appreciate they limit the monthly bandwidth on these, so maybe get a 12 month PAYG to use towards the end of the month when the contract sim is maxed out? It's a simple job to swap it over.
     
  10. Kimberson

    Kimberson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Pevensey
    Ratings:
    +1,833
    I don't get how you currently get 100kbs a month but are a heavy user. Surely you can't currently be using 40gb a month on your current speed.
     
  11. paswtyman

    paswtyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +86
    interested in a solution here. moving house into a new build that has no fibre nearby!!! joke really as its next door to a business centre. Anyway, I see you can tether 30gb a month on 3, but can you use your phone to run Netflix and screen share to a tv and not be tethering?
     

Share This Page

Loading...