1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4805 is it Hi Def

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by maverick177uk, May 13, 2005.

  1. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +453
    I've got a 4805 which is connected via my Denon 3805 by component, will this be good enough to display Hi Def pictures when they come out? I put all my wires in the walls but I didn't put a DVI cable in and otherwise I'll have to run a cable round the room which will look bad :nono:
    Cheers Rob
     
  2. stripe

    stripe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +123
    It'll take a Hi-def input but it will down scale it to it's native 480p rather than the Hi-def 720p.
     
  3. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +453
    So will it look any good or do i need to use a different cable?
     
  4. matblack

    matblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Different cable won't help, the panel can only output as many pixels as is has and it has 480

    The scaling in the 4805 is supposed to be very good so you'll get a nice picture but it WILL be 480

    MB
     
  5. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    the ae700 and z3 have hidef panels 1280x720, thats the minimum spec for hidef.
     
  6. binbag

    binbag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +81
    It'll look better than what you're seeing now as the source quality will be higher than what most of us are watching at the moment. The 'official' 4805 thread at www.avsforum.com raves about the picture with HD sources and there are a few screenshots. Resolution isn't everything either, my 4805 was a factory replacement for the XGA LP350 and although it has a lower resolution, it produces a much more watchable picture. That said, true hi-def on a quality display is stunning.
     
  7. Prayer

    Prayer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been offered new Infocus ScreenPlay 4805 for 265£, 5700 for 660£ and 7210 for 1540£. I have two questions:

    I would be happy with 4805 in my small urban apartment, but the offered set is missing a remote control. Are there any functions that I can't access without the remote?

    And the second thing is about the M1-DA connector, I saw Dell offering M1-DA to D-Sub 15-pin (VGA) adapter cable, InFocus is selling only M1-DA to DVI adapter cable with USB. Will the Dell or any other VGA adapter cable work with 4805?
     
  8. ntslik

    ntslik
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sorry but i don't believe those price ......where from???
     
  9. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe he is converting the prices from a country where the retailers and manufacturers dont screw their consumers? :suicide:
     
  10. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I refuse to believe such a country exists, and for a small one time fee I can prove it...
     
  11. Prayer

    Prayer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was only one of each of the named PJ-s on offer on a forum.
    Everybody was suspicious because of the prices, but warranty was offered and the PJ-s were new allegedly.
    These nice things happen in Estonia only :hiya:
    I'm sorry that I have upset you, shouldn't have brought up the exact prices.
     
  12. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    are projectors cheap in estonia anyway? might pop over for a holiday and give your country my money instead of the rip-off britain retailers/manufacturers
     
  13. Prayer

    Prayer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think so, but you can take a look at the prices here for example:
    http://www.aate.ee/Projektorid/
    1£ = 22,76 Estonian Crowns
     

Share This Page

Loading...