1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

45 min footie half long enough for burnin?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Hitby, Feb 12, 2005.

1. Hitby

Hitby

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +534
    Evening all,

Been lurking for a while and am getting me shiny new LG PX11 delivered tomorrow morning. I watch a load of footie and am somewhat worried about the score DOG on sky sports - could this damage my screen from watching a game or two or will it be ok?

BTW: I'M SO EXCITED!!!

Cheers

Hitby

Come on the Boro!

2. Tomo1971

Tomo1971
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Im no expert, it seems that the more experienced members will say that you should turn down all the contrast and brightness settings to as far down as you can stand them for the first few weeks of viewing and try not to leave static images on screen for too long.

I have a pio435 which will retain images (cbeebies logo) for a while but so far they seem to of dissapeared the next day but different screens react differently than others with screen burn/retention.

You would think that will the all the new technology that we are buying to enhance our TV experience that the broadcasters would use scrolling logos on there broadcasts. For example the MTV logo......... maybe scroll it slowly from side to another over a period of say 10 mins, we would hardly notice it!

How much would that cost to do, nothing!

Thinks we should all start emailing them now..........

Steve

3. Hitby

Hitby

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +534
    surely they could be made transparent somewhat, they get to keep em and we don't have to worry about em!

Dan

4. Loada

Loada

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48