1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

43MXE1 or 42PWD8? (Both under £1400)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rowlandhills, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    I see that Richer Sounds are selling off their last few Pioneer PDP-43MXE1's at just £1399 each, which puts them in a very similar price range to the Panasonic 42PWD8.

    Which would be the better buy? Initially, it'll be connected without a scaler, but I plan to add a VisionDVI (and an ISF calibration!) within the first six months.

    As I see it, the MXE can handle HD video, but may have issues with 50Hz, but this won't be a problem if I use a scaler. On the other hand, the PWD8 will probably have better contrast levels, and it's a newer product, slightly cheaper, and with more flexible inputs...

    Any thoughts appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Rowland.
     
  2. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    Alternative question, I guess:

    How does the 43MXE1 compare to the current generation of screens?
     
  3. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Thats a good price for the MXE as it should come with the video card(5004) aswell and it has gone down £400 in 5 months from Richers!!!

    Be aware though that it does not have a HDCP compliant port but for for £1400 it is a bargain!

    Steve
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    There will be no video card for that, Richers don't stock them.
     
  5. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    OK. So that means that if I get the MXE then I'll have to buy a scaler now, rather than later, or buy a 5004 video card (if I can find a stockist)?

    Anyone care to comment on the image quality?

    Thanks.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Image quality is as good as the XDE with no scaler, way better with one. You need the video card anyway, as the special processing mode for PAL video is only available with the card installed.... they are about £200.
     
  7. rowlandhills

    rowlandhills
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Baldock
    Ratings:
    +18
    Can you recommend anywhere to get the video card from?

    Cheers.
     
  8. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Rowland/Maw,

    I bought my MXE from Richers in May and it did come with the 5004 video card. I'm not too sure if it is a full UK supplied panel though(I think they have sourced them from within the EU) but this should not affect your manufacturers warranty. Am a bit miffed that it has dropped £400 in 5 months but I guess that is technology for you!

    Just give them a call to make sure it is in the box. Also, the price being advertised is if you take out their extra "At Home" cover which would add another £150 on top. However, if you speak to the manager as I did you can get around that :)
     
  9. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Maw - have just tried sending you a PM but your inbox is full so have sent you a email instead.

    Steve
     
  10. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,592
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +280
    You got a very good deal on your MXE1 for £1800 - I paid nearly double that for my previous generation MXE. :eek:

    Steve
     
  11. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,592
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +280
  12. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    And at £1400 it is a stonking price!!!

    Maybe I should have waited :rotfl:
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It'd be a total bargain for me to buy them there trade. This is a few hundred quid below UK trade price ex vat!
     
  14. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    When I got mine Richers said they only had a few left in the country so if you want one better get one quickly!!!!

    Rowland - At £1400 plus say £650 for the KD card you have got one of a couple of plasma's that can do native resolution at 50hz and HDCP. Go for it!

    Slightly off topic but maybe you can help Maw/Dutch - Have just got a Momitsu V880 dvd player so that I can use the custom DVI settings it offers to get 1:1 mapping. I am having a problem with FRC2 where I keep getting the message "Out of Range" and no signal is received. This is when the player is set to 50, 60 or 75Hz! And it also gets the message when using the default DVI Video modes on the player. Can you offer any advice?

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...