1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

436XDE settings after run in period - what are yours?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by blossom, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. blossom

    blossom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi guys,

    Interested in peoples settings post running in period, if anyone has run them in yet.

    I am still running the contrast at 10. All other settings at 0. Have probably done 120 + hours by now and feel the need to tweak.

    Still think its the muts nuts by the way.

    Help appreciated.

    Cheers

    Paul
     
  2. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    cool mate i am due to get mine delivered this week, getting excited now ! any suggestions from out of the box, what settings etc did you do?
     
  3. blossom

    blossom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +15
    All I did was turn the contrast down to 10,and left colour, brightness, tint, sharpness etc all at 0. Also turned off all picture processing like DNR and Cinema mode.
     
  4. birdseed

    birdseed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    oh, ive been running at contrast 24 since it arrived, brightness about -2. I must be about 100hrs ish? but i cant seem to get the clock to run as i cant find the "display" button and the one below 9 as suggested elsewhere doesnt set it off either. I took it out of dynamic though.
     
  5. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Had mine 4-5 weeks and have just tweaked using AVIA.

    Contrast: 45
    Brightness: -1
    Colour: -8
    Sharpness: -3
    Tint: -1
    DNR: Off
    Pure Cinema: "Standard" when watching SKY (get interlacing without), "ADV" when watching NTSC DVD's (stops judder). PAL DVD's both "Standard" and "ADV" are greyed out.
    DRE: Mid
    Black Level: On
    CTI: On
    100Hz for everything except HDMI (DVD) which is set @75Hz.

    Some people have their contrast set really low (20-35) and brightness high (+8). I have no Idea why, because the blacks wash out and the picture looks really dull using these settings?
     
  6. blossom

    blossom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +15
    Do you find the football OK at these settings?
     
  7. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Absolutely fine, no judder whatsoever. I have noticed that you only really need DNR turned on when watching old broadcast material like 70's and 80's TV shows for example. When watching a DVD or SKY Movies, I can honestly say that DNR makes little or no difference. Pure cinema "ADV" works well with NTSC DVD's (actually stops judder), however, "Standard" makes little difference, but does seem to help with interlacing when watching SKY.

    I noticed 'slight' interlacing to the on screen names/phone numbers fading in and out when watching the X-Factor on Saturday. Turning on Pure Cinema to "Standard" fixed the problem. Pioneer say that Pure cinema is not needed for non-HDMI/Digital sources, as it's processing for analogue sources only. However, I found that it definately helps with NTSC movies on my HDMI player? Confusing I know! :eek:
     
  8. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Try these settings,they work very well for me
    Contrast 25
    Brightness +8
    Colour -10
    Sharpness -3
     
  9. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Just out of interest, why are you using such low contrast and high brightness?

    The contrast does not start to bleed on my 436 until I turn it up to around "50". According to my Ovation Software test pattern, the correct setting for contrast is "45". In addition, if you set the brightness too high, your blacks will wash out and appear grey. Again, according to AVIA, the correct setting is "-1". I agree with your other settings, however, your colour seems a little low.

    I know this stuff is personal pref, but your contrast and brightness settings seem way off?
     
  10. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +79
    I like to turn the sharpness up to 5 on my 506. I have contrast at around 25, brightness at -2 and colour at 0.

    Also I prefer 1125i to 740p (that's what my tv displays them as, as oppose to 1080i and 720p). I don't know why this is.
     
  11. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    I know what you mean, 720p comes up @750p for some reson on my screen?
    Panzer22 turn your sharpness down, you will definately notice line noise @ +5, somewhere between -5 and 0 should be perfect :thumbsup:
     
  12. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mremulator: What is this software you calibrated your screen with? Just tried your settings and I find the contrast to be way to high, how can u be satisfired with it that high?
    contrast= 27
    brightness=0
    color= -13
    sharpness = 0
    tint= 0
    DRE: off
    CTI= on
    gamma= 2
    black level= on

    Try these settings, leave you with a more natural picture.
     
  13. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Ovation Software. There are five blocks (black on the bottom fading through grey to white towards the top) and the correct setting is just before the top 2 blocks bleed into one block (50). So 45 looks perfect according to my setup disc. In addition 2 local specialist dealers have their 436's set up similar to mine.
     
  14. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so the gray scale is near perfect?
    What about your Gamma setting, color setting and ACL?
     
  15. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Ovation provide a blue filter lens to look through when adjusting the colour and tint. I had my colour set @-12 before I ran the setup disc. Anyway, you adjust the colour until the flashing blocks marked "saturation" almost stop flashing and dissapear into the background (-7 or -8 seems perfect). You do exactly the same with tint, only you adjust to the blocks marked "hue" and not "saturation"
    ACL is off and gamma is at factory default "3" I think.

    Anyway, all looks spot on to me. Turning the contrast down to sub 30 makes it look really dull IMHO.
     
  16. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok sounds fine! But could you check what the gamma is set to??
    Cause the difference is pretty big, 3 is much brighter than 2...
    Thanks!!
     
  17. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Glad your picture looks good to you - that is really all that matters. But just to put my oar in, the "5 blocks" are for setting up CRT displays. They don't work with digital devices which don't "bloom". Your contrast setting is way, way higher than I would expect.
     
  18. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Gamma is set to "3"
     
  19. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But what about his other settings? Don't they work with plasma displays? color, brightness, sharpness ect..??
    I am going crazy with picture settings, I never seem to be satisfied, changing it every day almost. Too brigt, to dark, dre on or off ect ect ect...:((
     
  20. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    I've been reading about you guys, I will gladly bow down to your knowledge and would really appreciate your help. Arcam sent me the disc and I have spent hours mucking about with it, much to my wifes displeasure :clap:
    Anyway, today I got a little worried when I saw most people posting their settings with a contrast level of sub 30. I think that everything looks a little dull below 40, and 30 seems really off to me.

    I thought that these screens were meant to be used with a high contrast setting? Now I'm really confused :rolleyes:
     
  21. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how should the contrast be set?
     
  22. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    After tweaking a little I found that my HDMI picture is a lot better with the following settings:
    contrast= 27
    brightness= -1
    color= -12
    sharpness= 0 (or -3)
    tint= 0
    CTI= ON
    DRE= OFF
    Black level= ON
    ACL= OFF
    GAMMA= 3
     
  23. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    I really wish there was some sort of guide for this. I agree with you Blade about the colour being set to -13, however, my setup disc and filter says otherwise.

    But the contrast still seems way too dull @ 27 and I now think 45 is too high, So would 35 be ok. When I say "ok" I mean would that be considered right?

    And what about pure cinema etc etc?
     
  24. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    The right test pattern for contrast is on title 13 (not title 12) of DVE when calibrating fixed pixel displays. I am not going to give away any more "trade secrets" - we calibrators have a living to earn!

    Blade,

    You are on the right lines with your current settings!

    mremulator,

    I do calibration for a living. I share many of my tricks, but there comes the point when I have to say get it calibrated by a pro. Your current settings are way out, and can be made hugely better - I am not allowed to say by me!

    There are a couple of ISF calibrators who have banner adverts on this forum - these banners cost them, but finance the forum - check these adverts and my signature below!
     
  25. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    ? Only my contrast setting is different really. If my settings are way off, then that disc Arcam supplied is not much use to man nor beast then is it :mad:
     
  26. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
     
  27. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
     
  28. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Lets hope you are able to state what the ISF settings for the basic contrast,brightness and colour are that info will be of interest to us all I am sure
     
  29. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes Mremulator, let us know when Gordon is finished setting up your screen!
    Also, I am curious to hear how different the picture will be, cause honestly, I think you will have to get used to a less contrasty picture. (With current 45 in contrast).
    Your settings will look more like mine I think. The goal is to get a natural picture.
     
  30. mremulator

    mremulator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +67
    Blade10, I'll post my results tonight. However, last night I turned off DRE which made quite a difference. My contrast is currently set @32, brightness -1, colour -10, sharpness -3 & tint -1. Pure Cinema is off, ACL is off and DNR is off.

    Just to let you know that I've been told that the pioneers end up with a contrast setting of between 30 and 32 once they have been calibrated. But don't tell everyone :devil:
     

Share This Page

Loading...