1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

436-XDE owners, hows the footy?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kamaran, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    To all 436-XDE owners who are also football fans, can you tell me what your viewing experience has been like with the footy?

    Have you tried both 75Hz and 100Hz is there any dreaded 'judder'?

    This screen is they key to my 2006 World cup experience next year, so I need your honest opinions please. :thumbsup:
     
  2. StefanoC

    StefanoC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, not a footy fan, from what little I saw of match of the day, didn't notice any judder and I'm running at 100Hz.
     
  3. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +79
    Can you set the refresh rate manually?
     
  4. stuart2348

    stuart2348
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my 436xde friday and have been watching footie all weekend... bliss

    100hz setting. :thumbsup:
     
  5. StefanoC

    StefanoC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can choose between 75Hz and 100Hz, made no difference as far as I could see, but 75Hz creates a louder buzzing sound from my screen.
     
  6. Serkie

    Serkie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    It's by no means perfect but I didn't find it distracting. I've played with both settings and find 100Hz smoother.
     
  7. The_Fitter

    The_Fitter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Watched Rugby with no problems
     
  8. yellowpostit

    yellowpostit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not a footy fan, but what I've seen has been judder-free
     
  9. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks guys! Much appreciated :)
     
  10. nightsoil

    nightsoil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Watched loads of footie over the weekend, I switched between 75 and 100 a few times and didn't notice any difference really.
     
  11. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    nightsoil,

    were you happy with the performance? Any screen burn/image retention from the score logos?
     
  12. Will35

    Will35
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somewhere on the M50....
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys - how do you set the refresh rate manually?
     
  13. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Its a question of wether you notice it or not I believe, but its always there aparently, just dont look for it!! :eek: It is a fantastic TV by all accounts. Not quite up there with the Panny of course :D
     
  14. The_Fitter

    The_Fitter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will35 You set the refresh rate by going to the home menu and into options and there it is.

    The only reason it is not up there with the Panny is because the Panny is still on back order. Keep waiting you can put it up there soon. :)
     
  15. Will35

    Will35
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Somewhere on the M50....
    Ratings:
    +0
    Must only be on the 436 Fitter - I have the 435..!!
     
  16. nightsoil

    nightsoil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Performance is great, especially enjoyed watching starwars 2 / asteroid chase scene yesterday. Colours compared to my NEC where almost 3d like (if that makes any sense!)

    Had a small amount of image retention from the red/white/blue score logo on sky. It vanished after about 15 mins of watching another channel.

    I normally zoom the logo's off the screen to be honest.
     

Share This Page

Loading...