Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

435XDE - Best feed via HDMI

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by shaunr, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi all,

    I've just got a DVI to HDMI converter to hook up my Samsung 935 dvd player to my Pioneer 435xde. Please could someone answer my questions below (i've searched and there is some answers but not completely).

    1) What is the native resolution for the 435xde? I thought 1024x768 was a 4:3 resolution?

    2) What is the best setting on the Samsung 935 to feed the plasma without upscaling then downscaling?

    3) When playing a R1 disc the Pioneer reports the following signals as i cycle through the output, 525p,750p and 1125i. Is this correct and could someone explain why its not 720p, 1080i etc

    Thanks in advance,

    Shaun
     
  2. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    The only One I can answer in number One. 1024x768 is a 16:9 resolution.
     
  3. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    and you got that wrong :)

    1024 divided by 4 and multiplied by 3 is 768

    I get 1366x768 when I connect my PC to 435 which is a 16:9


    I've read upscaling dvd players aren't particularly effective in comparison to a good quality DVD source, that was certainly the case when I tried feeding a 1080i signal from my HD enabled Xbox, the reported resolutions are a quirk of the Pioneer so my dealer led me to believe, it tends to add on some extra lines [if memory serves he said it was due to the signal frequency] but it was over a year ago and my memory can sometimes fail me :)
     
  4. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Is it? Confusing, how come it's an option with a 4:3 monitor in Windows then?

    Cheers for replying :thumbsup:
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +795
    The 1024x768 16:9 panels have rectangular pixels rather than square, thus giving you a widescreen image. They are squased down.

    You would probably be best to go out 480/576p and let the panel scale, because you can't give you panel 1:1 mapping just sending it progressive should give the best results, you don't really want to scale in the player and then scale again in the plasma.
    If you could output 1024x768 that would be different, you could then give the panel 1:1 mapping and completly bypass the panels processing giving a much sharper image (that is if the DVD player is actually better at deinterlacing and scaling than the plasma).
     
  6. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,511
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,088
    Hi

    1) The panel uses non-square pixels so it is actually 1024x768 with a physical ratio of 16:9

    2) I'd recommend leaving the DVD player alone to output an unmodified signal otherwise you will be scaling twice. No matter which resolution you choose, there will be scaling involved.

    Assuming we're talking about a PAL DVD which is 720x576 pixels, the panel will be scaling up both ways.

    If you set your DVD player to output 720P, the player will scale up, then the panel will need to scale the 1280 pixels into 1024, then the 720 pixels into 768.

    From a technical point of view it's a no-win situation. The best advice is to try all the different combinations and choose the one that looks best to you.

    3) Those numbers reflect the total number of lines in the source signal, not the visible number of lines. For example, 525P is what most people would call 480P and 625P is 576P
     
  7. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,511
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,088
    To answer your Windows question, 1024x768 is a 4:3 resolution, but the panel physically stretches this into a 16:9 shape.

    Inside Media Player / TheaterTek DVD etc, you can adjust the aspect ratio so that the resulting picture looks correct.

    If you want to run your PC in native resolution, there is nothing you can do to prevent the desktop and the other things running on there from looking stretched.

    One workaround would be to set your PC to 1366 x 768 resolution. The panel will then scale (in the horizontal direction only), and you should still get very good results - and everything the right shape!

    If you're only using the PC to watch movies though, I'd leave it set at the native resolution and correct the aspect ratio in the player software though.

    Steve
     
  8. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Cheers chaps (i knew someone would know)

    : )
     
  9. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    seconded, could never understand fully the dealers answer tbh

    and your right, I had set the graphics card output to 1366x768 to get the aspect ratio abit more natural
     
  10. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Radioactive man, are you connecting via DVI to HDMI on the rear of the media box or just through the front connector?
     
  11. Radioactive__Man

    Radioactive__Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    my DV79 is connected via HDMI to rear of Pioneer media box, when I ocassionally hook up my PC I use the front HD15 connection on media box
     
  12. shaunr

    shaunr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington - Co Durham
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ok, cool..thanks
     
  13. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    My bad. I did get that wrong. Strange, I should know this as my PC display is set to 1024x768 or a 4:3 screen. I was thinking 1280. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice