1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

433 MXE Picture quality?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by themmings, May 19, 2003.

  1. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi folks,

    Got about 40 hours on my 433mxe now and I wondered if anybody had/saw the same things as I see?

    Basically on very white scenes, I can see a pink'ish/red'ish type tinge, mainly in the corners (top and bottom) - I saw it yesterday at certain times a bit whilst watching Sky (Eurosport - World Superbikes).

    I've also seen it on DVD sources - but not as much. As mentioned you can only see it on white/white'ish screens.

    Anybody else notice this or have this?

    Contrast/brightness levels are down -5 on both, plus some more on my iScan. Chroma bug is on. Colour was down alot too on my iScan (I think about -30 out of -50).

    Joe - any comments?

    Tim:)
     
  2. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    themmings

    mines at around 30hr's now.
    I havnt seen any colour tinges that you mention.
    what i/p source are you using ?
    maybe all us MXE users should post our settings.
    As there are so many that effect colour/contrast.
    We may come up with a good default set..
     
  3. Luc

    Luc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got a Panasonic 5 series, and i've noticed the same thing in the top left. Seeing as i had the same problem as you with the contrast smearing, i'm beginning to think it's a problem with the technology itself, if it can manifest in two different screens. It doesn't bother me too much, i only see it when i'm watching 4:3 stuff with the grey bars and i look for it.
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,393
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,512
    You know what, now you mention it I've seen this too. Doesn't seem to affect things when I'm viewing stuff but have noticed it when my PC has been on the desktop , I'll do some more checking...

    Andy
     
  5. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I used to see some colour issues on my old set (Panny TX36PF10) - but I think this was down to the CRT tube technology struggling with the big flat screen.

    I didn't think plasma's suffered from anything like this ... The images on my CRT set were in the corners too.

    I plan to have it calibrated at around the 100 hour mark [Gordon] so it will be good to get his feedback on it.

    Anybody else notice this - as I say, It's not really bad, just a tinge in the corners on white screens.

    Could it be something to do with Sky transmission - but then I'cant see why it would only be in the corners - maybe like a solarisation type thing:confused:

    Tim :)
     
  6. Daliah Lavi

    Daliah Lavi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my 433 MXE settings at contrast -6, brightness -3, sharpness -1 & the other two at 0.

    The test dvd was Alien NTSC R1, lots of darkness, ideal for getting the right contrast/brightness levels, which I've left the same for digibox viewing too.

    Had it since last Friday & already at 42 hours :D , I'm about to put in another 5 tonight...

    Oh & I don't have any of the corner colouring problems mentioned.

    Simon C
     
  7. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    900+ hours last time I looked. no problems.
     
  8. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive got terminator2 on dvd
    its a special THX edition disk.
    this has some excellant video tests
    for setting up contrast / brightness.

    worth the buy just for these tests.

    there are audio tests too.

    all in all , well worth it.

    and its PAL... unlike the AVIA.

    check out my disks below for the version i have..
     
  9. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got about 200 hours on mine - no problems at all. Not even one dead pixel.

    Have you tried connecting Sky without the iScan?

    I've got my Sky+ connected directly via svideo which is great. I use settings on Sky of contrast -15, brightness +3, power control 1. Power control seemed too dark.

    One thing I noticed is that the more you decrease the contrast the imperfections of Sky aren't as obvious. The other day I was looking at the screen thinking that the quality of Sky had got even worse recently before I realised someone (the jury's still out!) had reset my settings for contrast and brightness!

    Mark
     
  10. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sparkz: No, I can't really try connecting direct becuase I haven't got the right length cables etc.

    I have mine on power 'mode 1' (normal IMO is unecessary, and mode 2 is too dark).

    I was watching 28 Days Later on DVD last night, and at the start of the film there's a white screen moment as it fades to another scene. I could see it then too. Don't get me wrong - it's quite faint, but it is there.

    I'm not sure If it's the same on a large majority of other screens, and perhaps I'm one of the few seeing it - dunno??

    I'm just waiting on a few check recommendations from Joe, and then if it persists I'll get an engineer to check it out.

    Anybody else out there with a 433mxe and iscan ultra to comment on this?

    Timbo;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...