1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

42wh36 pic quality

Discussion in 'TVs' started by jeje, Apr 22, 2004.

  1. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi there, I'be received a week ago my TV, I know, thanks to Demon, that I'll need to wait an extra week before doing to engineer mode things.
    Right now the Picture on DVD is not great, I use a progressive scan player with component.
    Could you reassure me that after the set up My pic will be crisp and clear ? There is aswell some horizontal stips
    Right now the pic is a bit unclear.:rolleyes:
     
  2. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait til you tweak the mechanical focus and do the large 56-point convergence.

    It will look like one million $$.
     
  3. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks, Not sure about the mechanical focus but I will do the convergence.
    Don't feel comfortable to open the TV, I'm really crap at diy ( the girlfriend does it, maybe I should ask her......:blush: )
     
  4. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The focus adjustments makes wonders, you will regret not doing it as you will get a completely new experience.
     
  5. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    How hard it is for someone not that great on diy ?how long does it takes to do it ?
    Might have a friend that can do it for me......
     
  6. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Taking it apart takes about 30 minutes max, and the tweaking does take about 1-2 hours depending of how picky you are with the sharpness, assembling toghether again will take about 30 mins max.....

    Doesn't Toshiba offer this service to customers in the U.K?
     
  7. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'll try to find out. Or anybody know the answer,? will rather pay for it, than having to buy a new TV.
    Thanks Lizzard. :lesson:
     
  8. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Sweden and we don't even have Toshiba in our ancient country, so i bought my TV from abroad so i can't help you with the tweaking, even so i could have done it for free for you if i was living near you.

    It's quite easy actually.
     
  9. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    I might move abroad then ;) , I 'm in belfast in the UK. Will ask to my mate if he feel confident.
    Thanks !!:thumbsup:
     
  10. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok, called toshiba and my dealer, they wanna send a new TV.........
    I explained that it's only a little bite out of focus and their is 2 blue line (convergence) that are visible on the middle and right side when black border are displayed.
    On the engineer mode I can't have access to them.
    Can you resolve those by opening the TV ?
    Anyway I said I'd rather have an enginner, they say they will see.
    Waiting for a call.....
     
  11. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problems won't be solved by shipping a new TV, what a waste of resources i might say.

    All RPTVs needs to be calibrated at home after delivery, it's the nature of the technology which a new TV won't solve.
     
  12. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    I know, I've try to explain them but I guess when they gonna send me the ........ fifth TV, they might send someone......
    The TV is OK, I just know the focus is not right it's like it's not sharp the pic is a little blurry even with monster inc.
    And I can see in 2 spots some blue edges than can't be resolved on the engineer menu.
    Oh well to be continued........
     
  13. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, they gonna send me a new TV next week. I was wondering if it's a good idea if:
    I try to tweak it and let's say it goes bad, well I 'll get a new one.
    If I get it perfect I can just call them and say that it is fine now.
    I'm sure the focus will resolve most of my issues but not sure about the blue line that I can't reach on the engineer mode ?
     
  14. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for it.....
     
  15. jeje

    jeje
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, I'll do it on saturday, my friend advised me to put somekid of cotton on the screw to keep the paint from the screw fine. is it necessary ? Did you needed a special screwdriver. ?
     
  16. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a set with different bits to fit my screwdriver, i don't know which one i used but i tried several of the bits until i found one that was fitting well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...