1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

42pwd8 Just Arrived!!!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by dando, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its all hooked up via component box etc and the picture is awesome! Very happy bunny! Anyone thinking of getting one, you wont regret it. PS Thanks to everyone who gave me advice about this panel, you were right.
     
  2. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    837
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Nice one mate - enjoy!
     
  3. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    :thumbsup: Great choice. Got mine all hooked up on Friday last week, and it is great :thumbsup: Already up to 35 hours so far :eek: :eek: , I really must get out more :rolleyes:

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  4. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was a direct replacement for a 37PV500 and I'm going to stick my neck on the line and say that the PWD has a better picture!
     
  5. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    837
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Bloomin eck - now there's a controversial statement ....... hope your wearing your hardhat Dando :)
     
  6. steve-o

    steve-o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    Glad you're happy with it dando, gonna order mine on thursday :> :thumbsup:
     
  7. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont want to be controversial! Its my honest opinion. And one more thing it looks very sexy wall mounted! (As sexy as the pio 435/6!)
     
  8. Tosty

    Tosty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very glad you're happy with it, cause I'm buying one tomorrow! And I've agonised over the tv/panel decision. A question though (to ease my mind), what are you using for sound?
     
  9. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey people. Just out of interest what are your current picture settings?
     
  10. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    837
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Tosty - there are a number of options. The PWD8 has a built in amp so you can hook some speakers up to it, otherwise it's the AV Receiver route with some decent speakers.

    Dando my settings (not gotten into an advanced tweaking) in Cinema Mode:-
    Contrast -5
    Brightness -1
    Colour 0
    Tint 0
    Sharpness 2
     
  11. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For sound I use an AV Amp. Denon 1906. The add on speakers for the panel are £200+ if you need them. Thanks for settings, I'll check mine out later (cos I'm at work) and see if how they compare.
     
  12. cl0nd0n

    cl0nd0n
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +15
    Also recommend this panel!

    Just hooked mine up. Sky+ via a JS Tech RGB > VGA converter. Excellent picture!

    Denon 1906 all hooked up. Not set it up yet so any advice gratefully received!

    New 42PWD8
     
  13. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    My settings are, whilst still running in, so they are a bit low:

    Contrast -7
    Brightness -3
    Colour -7
    Tint 0
    Sharpness -3

    Looks good enough for me to keep on watching for the next couple of weeks before I start playing again, with DVE, to try and get it right, whatever right is :rolleyes: ;)

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  14. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    I've got a seperate AV Amp (Arcam AVR300) which I am also using for component switching of the inputs into the PWD8, NTL/XBOX/DVD, so it means one cable from AMP to PWD8.
     
  15. pmj_172

    pmj_172
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, guys, please help a novice at the edge of the PWD8 investment!

    I have sky digital, Sony DVD and theatre system. What is the best way of hooking up the DVD and Sky to the PWD8.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  16. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    probably the best is to go sky via js rgb to vga and dvd via component, but also sky via scart is very good on the 8 series leaving the vga free for component from dvd.
     
  17. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    What's the model numbers of the Sony DVD and "theatre system"? And what video inputs/outputs do they have? THis will help with recommendation.

    As mep has said, you could make use of the built in VGA port, or add extra scart board for sky or DVD, or just the VGA if you add a switcher of some kind in the middle.

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  18. steve-o

    steve-o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah the best way in my opinion would be to buy a few cables and a switcher and run everything through VGA. That way you got all the slots left for expansion should you require it in the future.
     

Share This Page

Loading...