1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

42PD5100 plasma / sky + picture quality

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by davidagodfrey, May 23, 2005.

1. davidagodfrey

davidagodfrey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to Plasma tv's and sky+ and seem to have a problem with the picture quality when watching the satelite picture.

When connecting the plasma to a dvd source the picture is fantastic. - could not be happier. But when I connect it to my new Sky+ box the picture quality is no where near as good. Still pictures are fine but as soon as there is movement they can go blury. And watching football produces a shimmering surround to each player.

I have checked them with the same scart lead and same input on the plasma. Both have been set up with RGB signals.

Is there something wrong with my set up or is it a known issue with sky+ pictures.

All comments and suggestions greatfully received.

Cheers, David.

2. johndon

johndon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +89
    The artifacts you are seeing are quite common with digitial satellite broadcasts and are made worse by the size of the screen and the bitrate used by the broadcasters.

Football on ITV is typically the worst offender whereas on other channels (BBC1's Cup Final coverage on Saturday being an example) can look very good - I didn't notice any shimmering or tracking problems during Saturday's game.

If you've got the box set to output RGB and you are using a good quality scart, there's not a great deal more you can do.

John

3. davidagodfrey

davidagodfrey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply John,

I was afraid that would be the answer. Do you know of anything in the set up of the plasma tv that could make these problems appear less obvious?