1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

42PD3000 - what settings have you chosen?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by F1ash, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. F1ash

    F1ash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm still tweeking the settings on my new screen but was just interested to know what settings anyone else has gone for?

    I've routed my Toshiba SD330E via component cables through my Denon 2802 amp which helps with lip sync but does slightly (very slightly) degrade the picture as opposed to running it straight from the DVD.

    After checking the picture quality difference between scart and component I've found that the components are probably too good as now the DVD pixels are so sharp you can see them even at a distance. Doing a freeze frame during Bilbo Baggins fireworks at his party in LOTR really illustrates this - the scart picture smoothes the edges more.

    Also, I was really dissapointed to find that when viewing in 4:3 the side bars are light grey - I saw this on an LG a while back and thought 'mmn, that looks a bit crap'. I can't believe they're not black on the Hitachi! Black bars are far less intrusive.
    I'm sure there isn't, but does anyone know if the colour can be changed?
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi Flash,

    The grey bars may be more "intrusive" but they are doing your screen a favour if you watch a fair amount of non-stretched 4:3 material. I've no idea if they can be changed though - check out your manual.

    Steve
     
  3. F1ash

    F1ash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Steve,

    Yeah, I know they probably are. Would be nice to be able to choose though.
     
  4. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Pretty sure they can be changed to black on the 42PMA400E. Do not know about the 42PD3000, though.
     
  5. TP2K

    TP2K
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this panel suffer lip-synch issues across the board?

    Is it noticable in an "out of the box" manner/set-up?
     
  6. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
  7. F1ash

    F1ash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +2
    The lip sync isn't really an issue - I'm just a perfectionist. I used to have really bad lip sync with my old Sony CRT when using a PS2 to play DVDs with a Yamaha amp.

    Cheers for the link, Wilber
     
  8. Mr Burns

    Mr Burns
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would someone do me a great favour and have a look on the back of the multi-media box for this Plasma and tell me what the mains input says - i.e. 110/220 v 50/60 Hz? Thanks very much.
     
  9. Mr Burns

    Mr Burns
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please..............?
     
  10. F1ash

    F1ash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'll try and remember..
     
  11. gpedder

    gpedder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    luton, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    mains input says:

    100-240 @50hz
     
  12. F1ash

    F1ash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nice one gpedder - I forgot! :rolleyes:

    I was too busy watching Gangs of New York last night.

    I can't imagine the picture quality getting any better than this on any screen of any type! Blacks were properly black too which I know is something that is moaned about generally on plasmas. BTW I had black stretch set to OFF too.
    The picture was so sharp and clear - incredible.

    Also, after watching the entire 2 and a half hours of it, plus freeze frame pauses for refreshment, I found absolutely no residual screen burn with the cinematic black bars at the top and bottom.
    I also haven't found any problem after watching lots of 4:3 sky broadcasts.
     
  13. Mr Burns

    Mr Burns
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...