1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4200, sd220e &fs2av...wot about music?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Sven Erik, Jun 27, 2002.

1. Sven Erik

Sven Erik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused:
    hi everyone... it's my first thread so be gentle with me please...

I am new to the whole game having previously owned nothing but an old Sony Midi system...don't cringe...
    so I am about to buy a surround sound system system...probably spending around £900.
    I have spoken to some friends, read the magazines, and now I have been reading your comments ( which have been more informative than anything else !!) I know it's entry level stuff for me at this time but I am after as much advice as possible so I can go into the stores ask for Demos and KNOW what I am talking about.

What do I plan to buy ? well... I think I want a Marantz 4200, Toshiba sd220e and some Mission FS2AVs ( to keep the room looking "nice " according to my wife!). We want a 28" widescreen TV.

I want a good surround system ( hence the choice above) however am concerned that the separates I have chosen may not be good for CD playback from what I have been reading ( but bearing in mind that I am used to an 11 year old sony Midi system then I expect it to sound pretty good). So can anyone shed any light on what I should be looking out for ?

Are there any downsides to putting these components together ? do they all integrate well ? do they compliment each other ? does anyone have a similar setup ? will each piece have enough connectors for what I want etc ? rather than the fs2avs ? would an acousitmass 6 set be better for music ( what is everyone's gripe about Bose here , I believed they were ok..?) does the component Video out work right through to the TV etc etc... I just don;t know.