40D grip?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by richard plumb, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    Hi

    Looking at the 40D, some of the accessory information isn't up to date.

    for example, there is a new grip which just seems to have better weatherproofing than the old one, and is still compatible with the 30D. Does that mean the standard BG-E2 will also work on the 40D? Are there any new buttons that woudl be missing?

    Its just that the E2 can probably be gotten cheaper on ebay etc as its been out for a while.
     
  2. geofftelforduk

    geofftelforduk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +138
    Yeah, according to the Canon website, the BG-E2 is compatible with the 40D.

    Click HERE and then search for "Battery Grip" and you will see.
     
  3. cedmondson

    cedmondson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +283
    I've toyed with getting a battery grip for my 40D but not yet convinced I need one. My understanding is that the ONLY difference between BG-E2 & BG-E2N are the weatherproofing seals on the latter - there are no additional buttons.
    Either model will work with 40D and its predecessors.
    According to camerapricebuster the lowest UK price for either is £99 (both 7dayshop).
    There are some third party variants around but I've no idea whether they're any good.
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    ok that canon site says its compatible with the RC-5 remote? I was looking for a replacement for the IR remote I have for the 350d so thats good news if true. I thought it didn't have an IR sensor.
     
  5. paulwIre

    paulwIre
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +17
    I had the BG-E2 for my 20D, and it is now attached to the 40D. Works exactly the same. The only difference between the BG-E2 and the BG-E2N is the weather sealing on the new model.
     
  6. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    how are you liking the 40D?

    I've sold my 350d now and I'm tempted to get one before this months photo comp finishes because I have an idea.

    Just need to avoid death by wife
     
  7. paulwIre

    paulwIre
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +17
    I think the 40D is wonderful. I like all the nice new features - larger LCD, larger buffer, greater fps, faster/sharper AF, 14bit raw files with greater colour and detail, more custom functions, spot metering ... etc etc.

    For me, I find it a brilliant upgrade from the 20D, and especially since all my accessories still work with it (battery grip, remote release cable, etc).

    My girlfriend knows me well enough at this stage, that when I first started talking about it and the features she asked when I was going to order it. :thumbsup:

    It's well worth buying this camera.
     
  8. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    aargh! £749 at amazon.co.uk...
     
  9. jonnypb

    jonnypb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    4,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +559
    £749.99 also from play and with cash back from quidco you can knock an extra £20-30 off!!
     
  10. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    So did I as the 20/30D did not and it will work with their wired remote.

    However it says LC 5 not RC so it may still not work with the 350/400D series wireless remote:mad:
     
  11. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    never tried this quidco thing. Guess its time to start.

    Or will my impatient side get the better of me and make me buy it from my local camera shop for £799? I do like the act of buying something rather than waiting around for the post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...