400GB Drive for Sky+ ?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by booktrunk, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    I'm thinking about getting a 400GB drive for Sky+, it's a standard 80GB one that was installed a month ago. The drive i'm thinking of getting is a Hitachi Deskstar 7K400 400GB UDMA100 mfr#: HDS724040KLAT80

    Anyone know if this will work?

    Not to worried about noise, or if it costs a few more pennies to run in energy, I would just like to know if anyone forsees any problems with it.

    If it's noisy i'll stick it in large cupboard under the stairs so noise isn't an issue either.

    Any input would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The maximum size that a Sky+ box will recognise is 250GB.
     
  3. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks.

    That is the info I needed to know, sorry to be a pain but do you know of any "recommended" drives that people find work well...

    I'll have a hunt through some other threads as well to find out.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    There's tons of information in this thread

    Unfortunately what works well in one make of box won't necessarily work well in another, so you do need to identify which make/model of box you have. Also, you'll find that many of the drives mentioned early in the posting are no longer available. A "rule of thumb" is to use a 5400rpm drive where possible, because they are quieter and run cooler than 7200rpm drives. Theroretically any IDE drive up to 250GB should work, but there's no guarantees. I'd recommend Technoworld as a supplier - they stock a good range, and the prices are competitive.
     
  5. Rash

    Rash
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    5400rpm drives seem to be harder to come by now. When I upgraded a month or so ago technoworld had run out of the 160GB 5400 rpm drive, so I ended up with a 7200rpm one. So far it has worked fine.

    After i had purchased I saw someone posted a link to komplett. They stock a 5400rpm 250GB Samsung.

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=308644&cks=SPC
     
  6. The_Munter

    The_Munter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is it easy to install em? Do you just swap em out? or do you need to format it?
     
  7. carlosbrunos

    carlosbrunos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, very easy, its a std ide interface.

    Search google, theirs loads of examples.
     

Share This Page

Loading...