40" LCD in 10' X 14' Room

Chugster

Standard Member
Reaction score
I've just bought a 40" Samsung LCD for my front room and am now unsure whether a screen this size is too much for aroom this size. Do you think it is too big or is it just that I need to get used to it ? (I have upgraded from a 28" 4:3 CRT).

i have a 23" in a 10 x 10 room :rotfl: it's not too small, but it hangs rather inconspicuously on the wall.

I have little experience of large telly's, I have seen a 46" TV in a room maybe 20 x 20 and to me it seems big. I do get used to watching it though. Give it some time.

Being that close to such a large tv will mean that you'll want to very seriously consider HD sources instead of standard TV.

We have a 40" LCD in out 13' * 13' room and I had the same worries as you when I ordered it. I'm so glad I did now.

However word of warning, when its delivered, and you take it out the box your going to have a heart attack, because no matter howm much you try to visualise it, or how often you have gone to the shops and looked at a 40" TV, its going to be much much bigger in reality at first than you ever imagine. :clap:

Its a shock at first, but eventually it just becomes part of the room and takes less footprint space than you think.

Dont worry, you obviously want a big screen so just why not have what you want, you will never be happy with a smaller one if you dont at least try it out.

My room's 17*11 and I have a 37" Plasma.

Boy do I wish I had a 50" now:rolleyes:

I think 40" will be fine.

Have no fear - it's not too big.

Our room is about 20 X 13. Longwise we have a 56in TV furthest seating is about 18 ft. from the tv.

Width wise we have our front projector on a shelf that throws a 120 inch diagonal image to the facing wall screen just 12 ft away from the projector lens.

Neither is too much screen for the room.

I don't think someone will ever wish they had bought a smaller screen but often will wish they had bought a bigger one.
goodluck and enjoy