1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 ohm v 8 ohm?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by unrealdave, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. unrealdave

    unrealdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romford
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi

    SOme advice sought as I am thinking of putting some Celestion A1's (4 ohms) onto my Arcam AVR 100 along with an A6s and some mission rears and center (8 ohms).

    Some guy told me not to take any notice and mix them with no worries but I have amps that need switching to 4 or 8 ohms so what is the science behind this?

    cheers

    dave
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Those Celestion speakers are allegedly excellent but very difficult to drive. I would set your amps to the 4ohm setting.

    All this does (usually) is reduce the internal voltage rail for the power supply to help keep the current within safe levels. The 4ohm speakers will need far more current but mixing them shouldn't be a problem at all as it's only really a safety feature which helps prevent the internal protection circuits kicking in when you don't want them to. :)
     
  3. unrealdave

    unrealdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romford
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks John

    I've set them up now and they sound great after messing round with position. I've set the amp to 4 ohms. Cheers
     
  4. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,349
    Dave

    your Arcam AVR100 won't do the A1s justice, I can tell you! They are absolute beasts to drive, I'm sure I read somewhere that they dip even to 2ohms at times, which is a severe load for an integrated amp to handle! (though if you never play movies or music loud I doubt it would be a problem).

    My old Rotel RMB-1075 drove mine ok, but I then heard them on the end of a Parasound A51 and they sounded out of this world. So when you can...best upgrade that amplification:)
     
  5. Steve N

    Steve N
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +2,163
    Would this comment apply to all integrated amps. I have a denon A1 SE which recommends speakers be 8 ohms but my speakers are Kef Refs which are mainly 4 ohms. Advice at the time of purchase was that it doesn't really matter and denon are just playing safe.
     
  6. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +96
    Completely agree, the A1's are great HiFi speakers which would test any system. Not only in electrical terms but acoustical.
     
  7. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,349
    Yes and no...when you're in flagship integrated territory such as the amp you mention, sure it will drive them fine. But with the A1s, you're talking SERIOUS power requirements to get them singing at their best, and the A1SE will fall short here.
     
  8. unrealdave

    unrealdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Romford
    Ratings:
    +11
    from what you guys say it looks as if i aint getting the best from the speakers. I also have an alpha 10 which I was thinking of putting on the A1's, feeding it from the outs on the avr100. Any thoughts?
     
  9. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have edited the above posts to correct the quote tags only.

    Reiner
    Moderator
     

Share This Page

Loading...