1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 gang wall sockets - do they exist?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Vorix, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. Vorix

    Vorix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've been searching the web to no avail.

    Is it possible to get a 4 gang switched wall socket to replace a current 2 gang one? I've found a triple but thought that I may as well go to 4 if they are available.

    I want to use a couple of Homeplugs but am aware that they don't recommend using them with trailing sockets. If I dedicate 1 socket to the plug then that means having everything else hanging off the one remaining socket!
     
  2. ukbootlegs

    ukbootlegs
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +354
  3. gillw

    gillw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Is it ok to shorten the cable on a 4 gang trailing socket or do they have to have a fixed amount of cable on them?

    The one I have has about a metre of cabling on it and I would like to shorten it a bit to make things look a bit neater?
     
  4. Vorix

    Vorix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +14
  5. ukbootlegs

    ukbootlegs
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +354
    couldnt tell yer m8

    i saw your post and thought if anyone sells them then screwfix does and took a gander on your behalf
     
  6. Beaker

    Beaker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +7
    Gillw, you can shorten the flex if you know how to rewire a plug, or in side the 4way block. There is no limit on shortness. It is more to do with coiling wire up like in a cable reel.

    Beaker
     
  7. lowmans100

    lowmans100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +321
    Have you considered just putting another 2 gang next to your existing 2 gang
     
  8. gasspark

    gasspark
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plugs straight on to existing single or twin socket
     
  9. gasspark

    gasspark
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is all true but if you have the knowledge wire the block keeping the moulded plug, this is for the safety of others.
     
  10. gillw

    gillw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +6

    Thank You.


    Merry Christmas to you all.:)
     
  11. Vorix

    Vorix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +14
    Bought a 4 gang and a 3 gang block from Screwfix and just wired them in to the existing 2 gang box in the wall. They are cleverly designed so that the screw holes match. One thing to note is that they sit quite a lot more proud of the wall than the old socket.

    I also bought the Homeplugs and these are working perfectly in the new sockets.

    Thanks to all for your help.
     
  12. the_watcher87

    the_watcher87
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    great, i didnt know these existed either. In my new house theres only one outlet in the three bedrooms so these will be ideal for me

    thanks!!!
     
  13. treberto

    treberto
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this is an old thread but was wondering if theres a socket thats 4-way that would support say 32 or 60 amps. I want to connect mining gear which consumes 2400 watts per socket and these adaptor only have a13 amp fuse. Am i right in thinking that something will go horribly wrong if i put 4x 2400 watts into these adaptors?

    sorry if this is a silly question but all my research is coming from googling and maybe theres a qualified electrician out there who can point me in the right direction.
     
  14. frazk

    frazk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,521
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +231
    Assuming your in the U.K. The circuit your plugging into will most likely be 32A max, quite possibly less. 4 x 2.4kw is nearly 42A so your solution won't work either way.
    You'll need to get a qualified electrician in to run a new circuit if you want to go ahead with your plans.
     
  15. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    When you say you want to connect 'mining gear', what is that exactly? Most UK socket outlets have a current rating of 13A (even a twin socket).

    The UK Wiring regulations recommend that any appliance with a rated power exceeding 2kW, should have its own radial circuit.
     
  16. MarkyPancake

    MarkyPancake
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    16,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3,223
    You can get Powerline adapters that are pass-through, so you don't lose a power socket. I got a set of TP-Link ones last year (other makes are available).

    Powerline Adapters | TP-Link
     
  17. niceguy235uk

    niceguy235uk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +272
    Wrong.
     
  18. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    I'm only referring to Appendix 15 of BS 7671, RFC arrangements. Which refers to appliances such as cookers, ovens & hobs and recommendations. However, any appliance above 2kW may cause thermal damage if used in conjunction with BS 1363 accessories, if used to their limits.

    If you could give a further explanation.
     
  19. niceguy235uk

    niceguy235uk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +272
    It's got nothing to do with BS1363 accessories.

    Read it again.
     
  20. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Sorry your cryptic replies are too little for me to understand. If you have something to add, why not make your point more informatively, so we can all gain?
     
  21. niceguy235uk

    niceguy235uk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +272
    It's not really that cryptic if you have your regs book.

    Any cooking appliance over 2kw is recommended to have its own radial to prevent the rfc being subjected to prolonged loads.

    It's got nothing to do with the accessories.
     
  22. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Good at last, some words.

    Appendix 15 is an informative appendix, making recommendations about ring & radial final circuits. Fig 15a makes recommendations for RFC's. Suggesting the load current should be unlikely to exceed for long periods the ccc of the cable, and refers to reg 433.1.204. It makes reference to cooking appliances, it also advices against connecting immersion heaters or loads of a similar profile.

    Reg 433.1.204 refers to BS 1363 accessories being used on RFC's.

    So, in answering #14, I would consider connecting 4 x 2400W (assuming the OP lives in UK, and whatever 'mining gear' is) as a bad idea, both for the RFC and BS 1363 accessories.

    Are we two electricians or qualified persons, arguing about the interpretation of BS 7671?
     
  23. niceguy235uk

    niceguy235uk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +272
    I give up.
     
  24. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    :(
     
  25. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    I see you edited your #23, from my email alert?
     
  26. Laudrup1

    Laudrup1
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +174
    That's your best bet mate. I've seen the poster on a number of threads, including my own, acting like this and he's better best ignored.
     
  27. ufo550

    ufo550
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    That's your opinion, of me, you are entitled to your opinion.

    However, I'm trying to advise 'treberto' not to do what he or she is proposing - #13.

    I don't think I can be criticised for advising against something which is potentially dangerous? This was the purpose of my #15. The challenge to my post appears to be argumentative, and not informative. I am giving my opinion as an electrician, where I might not always be right, I try my best.
     
  28. Navvie

    Navvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    859
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Fareham
    Ratings:
    +279
    I'm not an electrician, but I find ufo550's explanations far more convincing than niceguy235uk's succinct posts.

    I'm the sort of guy who buys MK sockets and switches because they seem to go above and beyond rather than B&Q five for a quid. I'd always err on the side of caution, unless that caution is shown to be unnecessary.
     

Share This Page

Loading...