4:3 Euro 2004 ok for new plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by BuzzLightyear, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. BuzzLightyear

    BuzzLightyear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've have a new Panny PWD6 set on normal settings with brightness and contrast turned well down - will I be OK watching the Euro 2004 with its black borders - non widescreen (God it really bugs me) and not suffer any burn in.

    Am I just being really over worried or what.

    Buzz
     
  2. sirees01

    sirees01
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you have sky, watch it on 410 british eurosport 16:9 :thumbsup:
     
  3. BuzzLightyear

    BuzzLightyear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about their big RED logo - is that ok
     
  4. sirees01

    sirees01
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    chill m8 otherwise you'll end up worrying rather than enjoying ;)
     
  5. runningback

    runningback
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    if you put your sky picture setting on 4:3 you can zoom it up to 16:9
    and have no black bars.
     
  6. willberry

    willberry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Everyone is going on about the black bars, but on my week old hitachi 5200 I found a ghost of the score line in the top left after switching off my freeview box, this was with contrast at -15 and brightness +2

    Hopefully it is just a residual image and not actual screen burn :rolleyes:
     
  7. chalkdust

    chalkdust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Just got my Panny and using NTL and am worried about the black bars. They have red through them, is this a conscious effort to ensure plasmas dont get screen burn or just supposed to be a nice effect.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Just decorative, chalkdust. You are very unlikely to damage a Panasonic with black bars, but kill the red dot. There's a macro for all you pronto users to kill it till you change channels instead of it reappearing at every ad break. Hitachi are very prone to burn for some reason, but also prone to temporary residual image, so you can't assume anything is burnt until about 2 weeks have gone by.
     
  9. chalkdust

    chalkdust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks MAW that is reassuring, can sit back and watch in peace on my made in Taiwan Panasonic now :rolleyes:
     
  10. neildhunter

    neildhunter
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't suppose you've got a pointer to that macro do you? :lease:
     
  11. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I do is set my sky to 4:3 and then my panny 6 to zoom mode. This gives the best picture to me, and all logos are off the screen in this mode as well :)
     
  12. 540YMX

    540YMX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you have one of the Pace style NTL boxes just go to the settings menu (Guide button) and then in Visual Settings change the display to 4:3 and no black bars just like the Sky users have suggested.
     
  13. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    All the macro is is to hit the back up button once the channel is selected!! I'm terrible and often just rest my finger on the backup button zapping away the dot as soon as it reappears!! Not for fear of screen burn either, I just can't stand the bloomin dot!! Won't be long before all channels look like Sky Sports News with info bars, interactive junk and advertising 24 hours a day...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice