3rd sky plus feed from quad lnb?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by gdonald20, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I stay in a conservation area so am only allowed a mini dish. I know it can't have an octo LNB so I need another solution to my issue.

    I currently have two sets of cables run from the lnb. This feeds the sky hd plus in two different locations within my living room. Clearly neither location is used simultaneously. We've just had a couple of new sockets installed and can now have the tv in a third location in the room.

    Is there any way to provide a 3 feed to this location? Could I split one of the existing pairs given that both sets would never be used at once, or would this compromise the signal quality?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Xclorist

    Xclorist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +8
    You would probably get some signal loss, but that's dependent on what signal strength you get now, not enough to cause any issues though, Just be aware that you will not be able to watch a different channel in room 3 if room 2 is using a feed, you can however watch the same channel, so my advise would be, use tuner feed 2 cable as that is not commonly used unless recording and watching another channel at the same time :)
     
  3. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    Why not?
     
  4. Xclorist

    Xclorist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +8
    I was thinking the same, should just be able to change the bracket surely
     
  5. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I could be completely wrong but all the info I've found states that an octo lnb cannot be installed on a minidish. Something about the arm being flattened. I can't change my dish from a mini dish to a larger dish due to staying in a conservation area.

    Is this information incorrect?
     
  6. Xclorist

    Xclorist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm pretty sure you can get an octo lmb for a sky minidish do you have a picture of the dish in question?
     
  7. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    See below:
    Sky Octo LNBs
     
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    A octo lnb will fit on pretty well all Sky Minidishes except the very old MK1 designs. The fitting on a mk 1 is smaller so to fit a later octo needs some bodging. You can buy a MK4 minidish together with an octo on e-bay.

    eg

    BRAND NEW MK4 SKY OCTO LNB & SKY MK4 SATELLITE MINI DISH ! | eBay
     
  9. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you all very much, no idea why I found loads of posts about them not being suitable. It's bucketing down at the minute so not standing out there to take a picture but I will when it dries up and if someone can tell what dish mk I've got that would be fantastic.
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    And surely a quad would be enough?
    There's only so much TV you can watch or record at once!
     
  11. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A quad, which I have already, isn't enough. I don't think you've understood the question. I have run cables under my floor to seperate locations within the same room so my tv can be moved around and connected in each location without having cables run over the floor.

    I wish to create a 3rd point in the room to put the tv. So that would be 6 cables from the lnb. As is said in my original post none of the sets of cables are used simultaneously. Only two are ever in use at once.
     
  12. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    It would indeed. The only certain way to tell is to measure the internal cross-section of the arm.

    See Sky Octo LNB (link above) and read all that page.
     
  13. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah that's disappointing since I just stood in the rain to take pictures of the current dish. Will need to wait for the next time hubby is home to measure it. I might be in charge of all things tv related but I'm too short to reach the dish from our ladder ;)
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    I wouldn't want to be continually changing the connections to a Sky machine, but if you do that's up to you. Just get the Octo LNB.
     
  15. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I ask why? It was cabled with the two sets of feeds by Sky. They told me it was done frequently so people could move their TV set around.
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    It's more a matter of personal preference really though of course wear and tear are involved!
    I can't agree that it is done frequently - this is the first time it's been reported.
     
  17. gdonald20

    gdonald20
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In truth the tv is only moved 2 or three times a year. So each two cable set will be used for 6 months of each year or there abouts.

    The quad lnb and dish were installed 5 years ago and it was the sky installer who suggested utilising the 3rd and 4th cables to provide a second tv point. Without wishing to jinx it we've had zero issues and I do know several other people with the same set up, as installed by sky so maybe it's a regional thing, who knows.

    Just out of curiosity what do other people do if they don't do what we have? Just not move their tv or live with cable run along skirting boards?
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    A room normally has just the one ideal position for the TV - but as I said it's up to you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...