3g sim in 2g phone on o2

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Alantubbydj, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. Alantubbydj

    Alantubbydj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    :hiya: I`ve got a nokia 6230i and my son wants a nokia N73 (he`s on vodaphone payg) for xmas so i was thinking i`m due an upgrade so if i got an N73 and gave it to him would the 3G sim that i get with the new N73 work in the 6230i or should i just not activate the new sim and just keep the old one, i don`t know if they turn the old one off after issuing a new sim, also if i was to activate the new 3G sim would it be locked to the N73, i`m on o2.
     
  2. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +612
    I dont think 3g sims work on non 3g phones. i have just got a 3g contract and have tried it in my phones nokia 6630/mto v600/xda2/x200 and it does not work on them. I have a lg which came with my bundle and it only works with that. All my phones are open to all networks appart from the 3 group.
     
  3. dayna62

    dayna62
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    My o2 3g sim works in my non 3g phones
     
  4. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    i think its the network providers that try to scare by saying a 3g sim will not work in a 2g as orange tried this with me. i think its some reason like the fact that a lot of fre upgrades end up on ebay.
    my old 3g vodafone sim worked in my sony k700i with as far as i know is a 2g phone and also my new orange sim which i definatly 3g worked in it also
     
  5. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +612
    i have a 3g sim/phone. my 3g sim does not work in a

    mda3/6230/6310i/nec/pannyx200/motov600!
     

Share This Page

Loading...