1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3D Mark 2005

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Stellavision, Feb 26, 2005.

  1. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    Ok folks. There's a new one out again, it's 3D Mark 2005. Have you got it yet?

    I've just finished building a new pc this week and was quite keen to check out this new benchmark to see what it can do.
    All I can say is, WOW!
    The graphic demonstrations in the benchmarks and in the demo are awsome, and the future of gaming is looking brighter and brighter. Making use of the latest dx9c advances you can see that life after HL2 might not be so grim after all. Lets just hope the developers utilize the potential power in hand.

    However, this will bring your FPS to a stand still if your machine is somewhat lacking in the pc power stakes.

    I managed a score of 5642.
    My new machine is a Pentium 4 (Prescott 775) 3 gHz on an MSI 915P Neo2 Platinum with 1024 MB of 533 mHz DDR2 RAM. The graphics card is a Radeon X850 XT courtesy of Connect 3D and I've gone for a 200GB SATA Maxtor HDD.
    :D

    PS.
    Watch this space for my old kit going up for sale, inc. my Saphire Radeon 9800 pro and A7N8X Deluxe N-Force 2 board. ;)
     
  2. PinkPig

    PinkPig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice system you've got there - 3DMark05 looks impressive, but this laptop can't manage more than 5 fps on it anywhere, so not too much fun to look at for me :clap:
     
  3. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    I want to test my system.

    What is best software for this?
    Is this 3D Mark 2005 available online?...what is website address?

    Thanks

    Jai
     
  4. PinkPig

    PinkPig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    3DMark05, as well as 03 and 01se can all be found at www.futuremark.com

    3DMark05 will only run properly if you have pretty high end hardware, including a DX9 compatible graphics card - 03 will run on a lot more, and 01 will run on just about anything.

    You might also want to try www.aquamark.com for another 3D benchmark.
     
  5. stormjai

    stormjai
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +3
    got trial version..

    score of 1562..

    probably lower due to ATI X600 graphics card..(PCI-e)
    rest of system is good, P4 3.2, 1024 533MHz DDR2 mem.., 160 Gb SATA HDD

    does this score seem OK for the above spec, only got system 2 months ago!

    ta

    Jai
     
  6. PinkPig

    PinkPig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks reasonable - the X600 is obviously holding the score back. Higher scores tend to be only got by people with the latest high end cards (X800 or 6800 series)
     
  7. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,490
    Could someone recommend the best/fastest place to download it. Gone for a few of the links at futuremark and I am getting crappy download speeds.
     
  8. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    I downloaded from www.fileshack.com
    You have to sign up for a free account if you have'nt already, then join a cue.
    If you log on and forget about it, it should'nt take too long. I think the average wait is about 40 minutes on there, with a free account.
     
  9. bjd

    bjd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +177
  10. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you want to PM me your address I'll send you a copy.



    Amusingly, I thought I'd try out 2001SE on my new machine; not strictly relevant, but I thought it would give me some idea how things have moved on in the 3-4 years since I bought my last machine.

    Then: AMD Athlon 1.33Ghz/GeForce3 - Approximately 6800 points.

    Today: AMD Athlon 64 FX55/Geforce 6600GT SLi - 21494 points.

    Yep, I think things have moved on just a little, though one does tend to wonder what a pair of 6800 ultras could do.
     
  11. PinkPig

    PinkPig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disappointingly the 3DMark01 scores for dual 6800GTs / ultras aren't much better than the single cards - I guess with these cards and an older application like 3DMark01 the CPU is the main bottleneck.

    Stellavision: Unless they expect you to repair snooker equipment, I imagine you mean "join a queue " ;)
     
  12. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    :oops:
    Excuse the typo. I rushed the reply with a 3 year old hanging from my neck!
     
  13. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +478
    lol i have a athlon 64 3200 939 and a x800xtpe agp
    and i only scored 1500 points less than you mainly because of my cpu
    the hardware has come a long way but 3dmark01 hasnt changed a bit so is limited to what it tests (mainly 64 and 128mb cards) in 2003 you would probably double my score though :D
     
  14. cyclops12

    cyclops12
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats a very low score you have there!!! ive got a simular system 2 you apart from ive got an athlon 64 3400 1 mb cache[clawhammer] heres my scores for 2001/03/05 everything is stock no overclocking!!!
    2001=26456 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8242624
    2003=12851 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3025472
    2005=6055 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=375638
     
  15. howesey

    howesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    howesey from FutureMark says hello!
     
  16. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +432
    23488 on 2001 SE for me on this box ( stock ) - will re set up my vapochill and water units for the card when I get the chance and see what it can do ;)
     
  17. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    To be honest, I'm not unduly concerned about the differing scores; my trying 01 was merely an academic exercise to see how things had moved on. What I do have, though, is the ability to run, say, Call Of Duty - United Offensive in 1600x1200/high settings with absolutely no problems; or, at least, I cannot recollect one.
     
  18. cyclops12

    cyclops12
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea its nothing 2 worry about anyway it would only be something silly like programs running in the backround or an old driver making your score a little low lets be hounest it dont get much better than playin games at the settings you play at :thumbsup: and at the end of the day real world perforance is all that matters :smashin: ps fantastic set up you have there
    [the pres kit]
     
  19. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,490
     
  20. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, but it's changed again; I now have a PMC TLE1 sub and I'm hoping the CB6 centre will be with me this week. :D :D :D The article will be updated as and when.

    No problem. :smashin:
     
  21. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +478
    uh huh i have the winchester with only 512 of cache :( and to top it off i have generic 2700 ram
    but my score for 03 is a little over 12000 and 05 is 5900, so it doesnt seem so low now :thumbsup:
     
  22. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,490
    Downloaded it yesterday and ran it, but got a really crap score of something like 750 marks.

    I don't think it likes something in my computer. I have a P4 3.0ghz, 1GB ram, FX5800 graphics card. Does this new 05 version only run properly with the very newest graphics cards?

    Greg
     
  23. charlaph

    charlaph
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +2
    I downloaded it not expecting much, but got 1981 with my Radeon 9500/Athlon XP2600+/1Gb RAM

    Not bad considering I was expecting <1000 - that's at the default fsb as well, although the graphics card is softmodded and overclocked :D On the back of this I've just committed to buy HL2. I was going to wait until I'd bought a new GFX card, but I reckon I'd have to spend £100+ to get a decent hike in performance over what I've got now, so I'm not going to bother.
     
  24. budwozza

    budwozza
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Owned and built PCs for years, work as PC engineer, 3D mark should only be used to back up results from other benchmarks, they still use some dx7 code !!! etc etc etc, btw, I score 6073 in 3d mark 05, but it dont mean nothing unless your real world performance is as good, remember its a synthetic (some may say pathetic) benchmark tool. Dont believe the hype.
     
  25. Obuggrit

    Obuggrit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought the current versions use demos of real games making them less synthetic. I've never used the thing, I just flicked through the blurb in computer mags about it.
     
  26. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,490
    I think you are right there budwozza. My crap score of about 750 is a bit puzzling as my PC will run anything. Particularly HL2 at the moment, with no jitter or freezing and with full graphics options on
     
  27. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Dimension 8300, 1Gb RAM, P4 3Ghz Gforce 6800GT = 4856 ... I borrowed the card of a mate as I only have a Ti 4800 SE - just been paid our yearly bonus so its now time to start thinking about a new GFX card - I have about £300-£350 to spend ... oooooo :)
     
  28. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    I don't think you can get any better than a Radeon X850 at the minute.
    Just picked mine up for £320 from www.novatech.co.uk :smashin:
     
  29. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +432
    the only other option for that level of performance = double the cost ... ie going for the Nvidia SLI option - but that means a mother board that can support it and paying for 2 cards rather than 1.

    .....afaik, ATI were planning to implement an SLI equivelent in the not too distant future.
    Might be an idea to push towards getting a PCI-E graphics card, because thats what SLI solutions use.
    That means in 12 months time, you could pop in another card for at a guess £150 and still make use of your old one ...... rather than having to get rid of it and buy a new card for another £350
     
  30. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    My X850 is PCI-E.
     

Share This Page

Loading...