1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3910-2910-or 1910?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rickyd, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. rickyd

    rickyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi
    I will shortly be installing a infocus 4805 pj, i already have a denon 3805 amp, but my dilemma is now which dvd player to choose :confused:
    I obviously want the best picture source to feed the projector, I dont own any dvda or sacd discs, but I will be using the player to play cds. Although price is not really an issue, does anyone know if the 1910's pictures through the dvi to the projector would be the same, or equivalent, as the 3910 or 2910?
    Sorry if the questions seem dumb, but this is my first projector and I want to get it right. :rolleyes:
    Kinza
     
  2. rickyd

    rickyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +43
    Anyone!! :lease:
     
  3. AgentCool

    AgentCool
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +184
    I bought the 2910 last week and have been extremely impressed with it and I'm currently just using it through RGB Scart! I think for a projector the 2910 would be better than the 1910 as it has a built-in scaler and HDMI which will upscale to High Definition resolutions. However, if your projector already has a decent scaler then it is irrelevant. The 2910 has the same video boards as the 3910 but isn't quite as advanced in general.

    Another point is that the sound quality is absolutely brilliant. The difference between this and my old Pioneer DV-575 was more than noticeable with an overall better sound resolution and the rear speakers seem to be more active creating a superior surround experience.
     
  4. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    Having recently auditioned both the 3910 and 2910 with 3805 and 2805 recievers, all combination variations, with progressive PJ display. I don't know what the projector was, but the screen size was massive.

    I have decided to go with the 2910. The 3910 is a fantastic player, but all things being equal in the demo room the differences were not signifcant enough to warrant the extra cost of the 3910. I could not distinguish on PQ between the two but the 3910 had an edge for stereo audio. If you can afford the 3910 comfortably I would get get it, but if your budget (like mine) is limited then the 2910 is a great player with the HDMI/DCDi benfits already pointed out the post above.
     
  5. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I got the 3910 and the build quality is amazing. The sound is also superior to the other players. If you can afford it, go for the 3910. Otherwise the 2910 is a good choice. I dont recomend the 1910 unless you are on a tight budget but still want a decent player.

    Still you will notice the difference between the 1910 and the others.
     
  6. Hilbert_T

    Hilbert_T
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kinza,

    The 1910 has Faroudja DCDi and scales 720p and 1080i through DVI and component. The DVI is supposed to be as good if not the same as the 2910, the component is not so good apparently. If you are using DVI-D ( the picture from the 1910 is stunning through DVI btw) then I would get the 1910 and save the money.

    Cheers,

    Hilbert
     
  7. jasonx32

    jasonx32
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a 2910 and was quite annoyed when spoke to the chap in my local shop the other day, and he told me that the 1910 has the same (virtually) scaling chip, so the picture via dvi is almost identical to the 2910.

    Save your money and go for the 1910 if you're purely intending to use it with dvi.
     
  8. rickyd

    rickyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks everyone :)
    I will only be using the dvi from the 1910 to the projector, and i had heard that the quality is as good as the 2910 and the 3910, so if i bought the 1910 i will be saving £700 :thumbsup:
    kinza
     
  9. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Good choice, but I do hope you realize that theres more to watching a DVD than just the picture. The sound is Equally important.

    The other players do offer better sound. I was surprised how much better the sound on my 3910 was than my older player. And my older player was a good player!
     
  10. Hilbert_T

    Hilbert_T
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kinza,

    If you are processing the sound on an AV amp with a digital output from your DVD and not using the onboard DAC's then I can't see that there would be any difference in the sound quality (correct me if I'm wrong!!), since you are simply passing through the digits similar tothe DVI argument. Of course if you are going to output anlogue 5.1 through phonos to your amp from the DVD then you will have to go for the more expensive models; the 1910 only has a stereo output. Since you have a good amp I would save the money.

    Hilbert
     
  11. rickyd

    rickyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hibert_T
    That is exactly my plan. digi out from the 1910 to the 3805 for sound, and
    dvi from 1910 up to the pj saving £700 :smashin:
    kinza
     
  12. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using the 1910 via DVI into a Philips LCD and the digital optical sound output of the 1910 into my Yamaha surround amp - the results are excellent.
     
  13. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    You seem to have set your mind and that cool.

    But I also use and was using coaxial out to my amp with the same set up and with both my old player and my new player. I was still able to hear a big difference between the old player and the new one.

    Just because its digital doesnt mean its the same quality.

    Just saying!
     
  14. flexiondotorg

    flexiondotorg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK.
    Ratings:
    +6
    The reason I did not choose (or test) the 1910 is because I wanted DVD-Audio and SACD support, which the 1910 is lacking but both the 2910 and 3910 have. However, the 1910 does appear to have the same Video DACs and de-interlacer/scaler as the 2910.
     
  15. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can any one confirm if the 1910 can upscale to 720p & 1080i, and what prices sre these going for. Will this work ok with a pio 434hd.
    Thanks
     
  16. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 1910 definitely upscales to 720p and 1080i via its DVI output - I've been using it for a month (with Philips LCD) and it's fine. Costs around £220.
    Don't know about using it with a Pio, but hopefully someone on here can help you answer that.
     
  17. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm getting concerned now. I too am looking at the 1910 because I simply don't have the budget to go to the 2910. I'm pretty set on the Denon 2805 AV and will be running Belden 7110a Component to an SP4805 PJ. Does this sound OK to people? Obviously I'm resting heavily on Component here (DVI/HDMI is going to have to wait now for a while as all my cabling is done and I didn't reckon on going down the pure digital route... silly me). Anyway, for my budget I need a DVD player for around £200 (Hornydragon recommended the 1910 for my budget) but it needs to give good sound and vision and will make use of the AV & PJ... there's little point in me having spent nearly 2k on a PJ & AV if the DVD player chucks out poor performace. Can someone assure me?
     
  18. Palu

    Palu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, you can order this unit (1910) for € 250. Look at www.hifi-regler.de
    They sent the unit althrough Europe. I dont know what te Pound is to the Euro. I checked out the 1910 which is very good. Bit i choose the 2910 for the even better picture and sound. (€ 699)

    Palu
     
  19. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    WOW. Kinda expensive. I got my 3910 for about 100.000 yen in Japan. Thats about 500 quid . And its gold!
     
  20. rickyd

    rickyd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +43
    Yep! this is rip off britain :offtopic:
    kinza
     
  21. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,043
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +397
    I picked up a 3910 at the weekend, and I'm very impressed. I'm only using a Toshiba PF2 TV at the moment but the progressive scan output is amazing, can't wait until I get my PJ next year. Sound from CD is much better than I expected too, I certainly won't be buying a seperate player for a long time.

    I did go after a 2900, but got made an offer I couldn't refuse. :D

    Why can't we have the gold ones though? Oh well, I guess I'll just have to replace my amp instead. :devil:
     
  22. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +45
    Am I going mad or have DENON only included Denon link on the 3910?

    So I've got a nice £800 Amp that I have to buy an £800 DVD player just to use this feature...rip off.

    Gary A
     
  23. Big_AL007

    Big_AL007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can not upscale the 2910 on PAL disks through DVI only on NTSC, this may make a big difference if your collectionis mainly NTSC. Not sure whether it works ok through HDMI, if anyone knows a way around this I would like to know.
    You can set it to out everything in NTSC but in my experience it seriously degrades the picture quatity.

    AL
     

Share This Page

Loading...