3840 x 2160 little box follows cursor round

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by avfrms5032, Apr 5, 2016.

Tags:
  1. avfrms5032

    avfrms5032
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have a GTX 980 ti everything has been fine.
    But recently when i play games at 3840 x 2160 there will be a small rectangular box a few cm below the cursor that moves with the cursor. Its different for different games, so with DAI its a box with many small different colored horizontal lines.
    I took a screenshot while in game, but the box does not appear in the screenshot.
    I have looked on the internet but cannot find any articles that deal with the problem.
    I posted the thread in this section because its not hardware, its not the TV and its not the game.
    So its either Windows or the Nvidia software.
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,413
    Screenshots are taken fairly late in the process, so not appearing on there does often point to a screen problem. From your problem description it does sound less likely, but why have you ruled out the TV entirely?

    You say this happens when you 'game at 3840x2160'. Does this also happen when gaming at a different resolution? Or running windows at 3840x2160?

    Is that the actual resolution output or are you using nVidia's DSR to render at that resolution that downscale prior to output?

    Have you tried running an OpenGL game?
     
  3. avfrms5032

    avfrms5032
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    1920 x 1080 is ok, so is windows at 3840x2160.
    3840x2160 with 360 controller is ok in DAI but if i switch to KB\Mouse the box is back switching resolution to 1920 x 1080 removes the box.
    It doesnt affect all games, i was playing alice madness returns at 3840x2160 without the problem.
    It affected MTW2 for a while but then stopped.
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,413
    Did your mouse come with software that you installed? That could potentially be the issue.
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,107
    Seen it before. It is a driver issue.

    Have you tried using reference drivers?
     
  6. avfrms5032

    avfrms5032
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    reference drivers?
    for a Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H, those would be the gigabyte drivers ? or are the reference drivers the logitech ones
    the M/KB set is logitech, iv'e uninstalled the unifying software but the problem remains
     
  7. avfrms5032

    avfrms5032
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    sorted - yes it was drivers
    thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice