3805 or 3806?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by pixelated, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. pixelated

    pixelated
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +94
    Hello everyone

    Just got off the phone from my local Sevenoaks and asked 'em the major differences between these two models. Apparently it's mostly you can run HDMI connections into it whereas you can't on the 3805?

    Is the 3806 worth the extra? I.e. the 06 is about £1000, if in theory you could get a 3805 for 500-600 quid, would you do that instead? I have a Denon 3910 and looking to get some monitor audio radius speakers and not sure what to do!

    Thanks :thumbsup:

    Stu
     
  2. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The 3806 would be nice but without the need for HDMI your only real reason for getting one given the choice are some improvements to auto setup and bragging rights. You will have DL3 which made all the difference for me (3805 first, got my 3910 after) and pretty much the same sound quality. Cosmetically they are almost identical so no reason to go one way or the other. I would go 3805. Bragging rights are good though! :D
     
  3. pixelated

    pixelated
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +94

    Yes, they flippin' are ;) lol Ahh it's tough.
     
  4. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    if you can get the 3805 £300 or more cheaper than the 3806 and dont need HDMI switching, then go for the 3805.....if the 3805 isnt being sold much cheaper than the 3806, probably might as well future proof yourself with a 3806....
     
  5. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    'Future proof'. I avoid using that phrase because in the constantly evolving world of Audio-Video it is the least viable reason why anyone should upgrade.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    23,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    If you have no intention on jumping on the HD bandwagon in the next couple of years then go for the 3805. By that time there will be better amps available and probably with all the necessary HD codecs.

    However, the 3806 will give you flexibility of making that choice if you want to go HD without worrying about buying a new amp.
     
  7. pixelated

    pixelated
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +94
    Thanks for the replies :)

    Well seen as though I've got the PV500 with it's HDMI input, and Sky HD looming I wouldn't mind having more HDMI connections available to me (My PV500 one is being used by the 3910... ) But then again I don't plan on getting an xbox 360 anytime soon, but I'd like to have the option of getting Sky HD... I read in What HiFi? there's a little box out that connects to HDMI connector on the TV and gives you two without any noticeable loss in quality - what do you reckon of this?

    God I hate it when manufacturers release new products ;) hehe

    Stu
     
  8. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    as i said in my post, if the price difference isnt all that much then future proofing with HDMI is worth it......

    the emphasis being on the difference in price, if they only offering the 3805 £100 or £200 cheaper, and the sound quality of both was the same more or less then i'd take the one with the HDMI because more and more things will be released with it as an option nowadays.........but if it was a good £300 or more difference then i'd take the 3805 and get a HDMI switch box....lol
    (unless of course the 3806 made a good difference to the sound quality, then i'd go with that if my budget was ok for it)
     
  9. zerolight

    zerolight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +9
    A good hdmi switch box with hdcp is £250 (gefen). So to my mind that brings the difference in price down to not a whole lot. I'd go for the 3806. Actually I did.

    FYI the xbox360 uses component not hdmi.
     
  10. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +943
    Just because an AVR handles HDMI doesn't mean it does everything you want. First question you have to ask is what version isit compliant with - 1.0, 1.1, or 1.2? If it doesn't take V1.2, you will have to use analogue or iLink to connect SACD, and that's not what it all about.....

    Secondly, what input resolution is accepted and processed? Many of them only take 480i, and that's a bit short-sighted. Just because it has HDMI connectors does mean it's any use. This sort of information isn't always very forthcoming.

    Nick
     
  11. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    3806 is 1.1 if i remember correctly.....

    so no SACD, but it will do DVD-A
     
  12. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    12,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +306
    It's Denon Link 3 though isn't it? I thought that was SACD as well?
     
  13. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    That may have been what you meant, but it isn't exactly what you said. ;) While I fully understand your point, I would not be looking for a price differential of as much as £300 to justify the older option. Especially as the 3806 is still essentially untested (and we know Denon often use early adopters to iron out their little idiosyncrasies). There is a lot to be said for tried and tested maturity. I know, I'm old! :D
     
  14. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +76
    3806.
     
  15. zerolight

    zerolight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +9
    it takes in 480i/p, 576i/p, 720p, and 1080i and ouputs them again. it also up converts same resolutions in component to hdmi. i think that's pretty useful if your TV has just one input which can take either HDMI, DVI-D, or Componet. Like my Philips. ;)

    It's currently HDMI 1.1 compatible. According to the USA manual it does SACD CD area. Whatever that means. UK website also says it's Denon Link, 3rd Edition, SACD ready. Whatever that means.
     
  16. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,404
    So has anyone actually got a 3806 yet?
     
  17. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    HDMI 1.1 means Dolby Digital, dts, pcm and CD. I am not sure if DVD-A is included. A hybrid SACD will include a CD layer.

    DL3 will carry all sound formats at full resolution when connected to a similarly equipped source (3910 and above). It is Denons 'equivalent' of iLink.
     
  18. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,435
    HDMI 1.1 also carries DVD Audio. :)
     
  19. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    i was talking about HDMI, the Denonlink is a separate plug, but yes, verion 3 Denonlink does DVD-A and SACD multi channel....
     

Share This Page

Loading...