Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

3805 Auto Calibration

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Mr Incredible, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,568
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +12,916
    Hi,

    Within the last couple of weeks I've realised my long time burning desire to get a HC set up. See my tag line.... :)

    As my Mains are relatively "meaty" speakers I thought I'd see how the bass output was before thinking about a sub. Also my plan was to bi-amp the front as well. I realised that I couldn't have the bi-amp set up for Auto set up, so just moved the bananaplugs from the Back Surround terminals (Assigned Zone 3) to the Main L/R plugs.

    Anyway, I ran the Auto set up and the 3805 (although no sub, crossover was set to 40Hz), set all speakers to LARGE.

    I then put the cable back to bi-amp configuration...........The bass response has been awesome (+2dB on the VDP settings for bi-amp), with house thudding thumps that SWMBO is asking I turn down. :devil: I am thinking that a sub may be overkill.

    However, one thing I have been suprised by is that I need to have the amp on 0dB to get a sound level whcih I feel is acceptable in my 2400 cu ft room. The seating position is 4.9m from the front speakes (thank God for my 50" TV !!).

    Does this set up "sound" right?

    Cheers
    :smashin:
     
  2. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +6,522
    If you had a decent sub I would put money on you not needing to go that loud to get an accetable sound level. Personally I've found that I gudge "loud" and "too loud" but either how much bass I'm experiencing (or in my set up, how much bass distortion I'm experiencing) or how brash the speakers start sounding!!!

    Simple answer? Get a kick ass sub!
     
  3. matobinder

    matobinder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing, in my opinion, is your mains sound better with a sub. Meaning, they go to work more on the rest of the audio spectrum, and you can leave the low end bass to the sub. My vote is always for Velodyne subs, they don't cost a boat load, and sound pretty nice. I have a Velodyne matched up with the rest of my B&W 60x Series 3 speakers.
     
  4. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,568
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +12,916
    So are your speakers set as "SMALL" and what crossover level do you use?
     
  5. Wild Rumpus

    Wild Rumpus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Erskine
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm using pretty large speakers as Mains (Linn Ninkas) with a subwoofer (Ruark LogRythm). I just let the Auto setup take care of everything and I'm pretty happy with the sound. The Auto-setup set the mains as "Large" and I think that the crossover is at 40hz. It sounds good on movies and music. Surprisingly, adding the sub increased the sense of "air" and clarity on music as well as added thump when required.
     
  6. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +315
    Yes, it's amazing what a sub does to the top end. By adding that just bit of
    extra weight down there, it really opens up the whole range.
     
  7. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,568
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +12,916
    What recommendations would anyone suggest for a sub to match my kit / room? And placement?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +229
    I am using a Velodyne CHT-15R in a slightly larger room - you might get away with a the smaller 12" model. A quick check on your room dimensions suggests that 7 foot (and multiples thereof) from the front wall should be avoided
     
  9. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +315
    You'd do better on the subwoofer forum. Also, how much you are willing to pay.
     
  10. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,568
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +12,916
    <£500. I am considering a S/H route too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice