1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3803???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by keyser, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I´m thinking of uppgrading my Denon 3802 to a 03. When is the 03 due out in europe.. and have they fixed the video upconversion problems for the euro units(I think they have fixed it now in the usa)??
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    It's supposed to be launched at the Bristol show this Friday/weekend. But when that means stock will be available I do not know. Anybody?
     
  3. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you know about the video upconversion bug.. if they have fixed it, I think the fix(whish had to be done in a repair shop) in the usa is very recent.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I don't but they'd be pretty stupid to launch the model here without the fix. Pt yourself in their shoes. Would you? now you know about it.
     
  5. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well there have been tons of products that are released here with bugs, and even though the manufactuers know about the bug(croma bug etc), and Denon don´t have a brilliant track record either. Thats why I asked.
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Point taken. I guess only time will tell. Pop along to Bristol and have a look for yourself and you could then ask the Denon PM while you are there.
     
  7. IainC

    IainC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Emmmm, I already have an AVR-3803 (bought from LEconcepts) and it does have the video up conversion (not that I have the component connections but do have a video -> S-video connection).

    Seems to work fine without any problems as far as I can see.
     
  8. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    IainC,

    have you checked for the problem they reported over on the avsforum.. about a scrolling green line or something with component upconversion. Not all had it in the usa I think.
     
  9. IainC

    IainC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sky box I have comes in over a Scart to video and audio phono connections and the TV is only connected via s-video and I've *never* ever seen *any* problems with it.

    Only problems I had video wise on it were all my fault ;)

    Must remember when setting everything up to also setup the TV's input to pick the s-video and not try and get the signal from the scarts ;) Had very dodgy looking signal to start with, then remembered the menu on the TV :blush: :laugh:

    No problems since then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...