1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3802 and dvd-audio

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by john R1, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has the denon 3802 the inputs for connecting up a dvd audio player
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,425
    Yes, it has the 5.1 analogue inputs required for either DVD-A or SACD. But it only has the 1 set, so you can't connect both unless you have a player that can do both.

    Mark.
     
  3. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    am purchasing a dv89 so sacd is of no interest to me thanks for the reply
     
  4. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having looked in the 3802 booklet there seems to be 8 seperate inputs for dvd-audio do i need to run phono leads to the sub input as well as the rest i.e. front centre etc, am getting confused i thought i only needed 3 phono leads but this adds up to 4 pairs of leads
     
  5. Supra

    Supra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    I would say a defiante yes, not an expert on these things, but I think the processing for dvd audio would be done in the dvd audio player.

    I know you do on my amp.
     
  6. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    DVD-A is 5.1 so you need 3 pairs of cables including a sub lead, if you have a sub, ignore if you don't. The other two are probably for centre back channels in a 7.1 system. The 7.1 input is not just for SACD and DVD-A, it's the kind of future proof the system. I mean if somebody anounces DVD-A v2 tomorrow that is 7.1 and not 5.1, you would be ready to use it.

    If you have no sub, just use the 2 mains, 2 surrounds and centre, so 5 single phono cables in all.
     
  7. john R1

    john R1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers stereo steve am running one rear centre at the moment might as well ignore that for the dvd-audio am running sub also so should just need 3 x phono leads
     
  8. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yep, just 3 will do. Remember though that as it's an analogue bypass you need to set up bass management and speaker distances/ levels on the DVD player too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...