1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

37" Plasma, which one do I go for?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by RockSteddie, Apr 1, 2005.

1. RockSteddie

RockSteddie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +130
    Hi All

This is my first time posting on this forum though I've been reading the threads for the last couple of weeks. I'm on the brink of taking the plunge into the wonderful world of Plasma TV but I'm just not sure which model / size to go for. Get ready for a glut of newbie questions !!

After seeing many positive views on the Panasonic range I'm very close to going for the TH37PW7B or TH37PWD7 (Seen on av-sales.com). Now I think i've definitely decided to go for a 37" model as I think a 42" would be just to big for my front room as the viewing distance from my sofa to the telly would be about 7ft (Would you agree?).

Also what is the difference between the TH37PW7B and the TH37PWD7 exactly as the specs look the same to me. Now the only thing I am hesitant about is that these models are not hi-def panels as they only support a 853x480 resolution and I have been told hi-def is the way to go and I should avoid wvga panels if I can afford to.

So which way should I go?.

This is what I will be connecting:

1) Freeview receiver
    2) Samsung DVD-HD945 (Prog scan & HD output via HDMI) - To be purchased
    2) Xbox
    4) Pioneer VSX-D814 HC Receiver - To be purchased

My main reason for getting a Plasma TV will be for watching DVD's. Will the Panny 37PW7B / PWD7 blow me away with quality of DVD playback via a component input or would I be better suited going for something like a Pioneer 435XDE which has true hi-def capabilities & HDMI input? Of course I want good quality PQ when watching freeview etc but not top priority for me (though the girlfriend would be upset with crap PQ on normally telly viewing).