1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

36pw9607

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Andy ARB, Jul 3, 2002.

1. Andy ARB

Andy ARB
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

Let me begin by saying that I'm relatively new to all this new TV technology but with the aid of about 20 home cinema type magazines I believe: (A) I know more than I did and (B) I'm more confused than I ever was ;))

However, after reading reviews of the 36PW9607 in magazines and reading comments posted here by others I decided to buy one and have now had it approx. three weeks.

All in all my impressions are mixed. The picture can look really fantastic and I've found myself watching TV just to see how nice the picture looks but thats only in fairly static scenes. When movement is involved it can be a different story.

Certainly I was expecting to see some 100Hz 'artefacts' or whatnots, but mainly on fast moving objects and then only occasionally.

However, I seem to be getting these 'artefacts' (best described as a heat haze effect around the moving object, which is quite large and most noticable against a light background ) alot more often than I expected ( Ps - There may well be other 'artefacts' etc. but its only the heat haze one that really spoils the viewing).

I've yet to see a complete program or film either through Sky digital (BBC1 through to sky premier widescreen) or off DVD that does not contain these artefacts.

A typical example would be in Mission Impossible II (I think its II anyway - screened recently on SKY premier widescreen) when he climbs to the top of the rock stack and then

A. Walks into the middle of the rock stack and
    B. The camera pans around him