360 - Streaming DVDs Query

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Buckster, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    WE have a son that tends to destroy DVDs ...

    therefore I have quite a lot of our cartoon DVDs backed up on my PC.

    is there anyway - to play these direct from the PC streamed onto the 360 ? with full 5.1 etc ?

    thanks, Mark.
     
  2. Waynej

    Waynej
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,067
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,316
    Yes, assuming your PC and 360 are on the same network then you should have no problems. I'm not sure about 5.1 but if you transferred them to your PC by way of a TV capture card and just so happened to save them in .WMV format then they'll play perfectly fine streaming straight to the 360 from the PC. If they are in another file format then having a Windows Media Centre PC would be your best bet, though there are currently ways using different software and such to stream different file formats to the 360 from an XP machine. I have actually tried this myself but with little success.
     
  3. peterc_drs

    peterc_drs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    kinda on topic here.....
    i'm interested in streaming dvd's to the 360, so i can play my non region 2 disks on the 360's media centre, i quick web search didn't show up much.... any one have any expeience with this...?
     
  4. dunks517

    dunks517
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Orbiting Bono's Ego...
    Ratings:
    +516
  5. LCR_Dave

    LCR_Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +74
    sod all that stuff, just rip the dvd onto the pc creating one big .vob file, rename it to .mpg and it will play fine but with no menus, the xbox 360 will not play ripped dvds any other way unless it is converted to another format,
    hope this helps
     
  6. peterc_drs

    peterc_drs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea i kinda figured that would be the case, not a real time option though, but thanks for the sugestions
     
  7. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    thanks for the help guys.

    one last question - with the Premium version - you get component out yes - do you also get optical out ? Or do you have to buy the Component + Optical cable ?

    thanks, Mark.
     
  8. gseh

    gseh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1
    How do you go about creating one big VOB file?

    I'm currently using DVD Shrink and that created an audio and video TS folder which I then play thru my PC.

    What program do you use to go down the VOB route?
     
  9. peterc_drs

    peterc_drs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the permium i got, included the component lead which has optical out on it, but also has 2 channel analogue
     
  10. campbellm

    campbellm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question - I thought to stream video from your PC you have to be running Windows Media Center on your PC? I've currently got a laptop with Lost Series 2 on that I'd love to run through my 360 into my TV? Any thoughts?
     
  11. LCR_Dave

    LCR_Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +74
    dvd decriptor but search google on where to get it as i may be on the line disscussing it and what it does! on there there is a setting to create 1 big vob, only problem ive ever had doing it that way is it pauses in the middle just ff 2 seconds and its fine again,
    hope that helps
    also search for a program called my movies, its an add on for media centre xp
     

Share This Page

Loading...