360 & ptae900 - vga connection quality any good?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by zubnut, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. zubnut

    zubnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +5
    Could I get some opinions from anybody who uses vga connects for their ptae900 projector & xbox 360 as to the image quality compared against component.
    Could you also mention in your comments if you are using Microsoft official or third-party produced ones. Cheers :smashin:

    (mods - i've posted this in both projectors and xbox360 forums for maximum reply opportunities!)
     
  2. buba

    buba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
  3. zubnut

    zubnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +5
    not worried about sharing as i run it thru a denon 3803 which has a couple of component in ports anyway.
    but, as amazing as the component image is, i just feel it can look a little soft and just wondered how crisp a vga picture would look in comparison.
    i have to say, still picking my jaw off the floor from when i got a first look at a 6 foot wide view of tamriel. fantastic.
     
  4. Tyjay

    Tyjay

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bedlington
    Ratings:
    +2,945
    hi m8
    i ran my ptae700 through the vga input and i have to say that the picture is so soft its was a real let down, the colours were softer but the brightness was better alot.
    its just a matter of taste component in my eyes was better overall, but again if u can lend a pair first to try that's what i would recommend.
    and buy the way i tried the joytec version, the microsoft official is supost to be better??
     
  5. T800

    T800
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +154
    I was running my 360 through Component (MS) to my AE900, good colour but lots of ghosting and softness.
    I got hold of a Joytech VGA, the colours were pale but very sharp. After using a PAL version of THX optimode on DVD to calibrate games look amazing.

    Granted the colours aren't "quite" as good as Component but a massive pay off in clarity and sharpness IMO.
     
  6. zubnut

    zubnut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +5
    cheers for the info guys (or girls of course -you never know ;) )

    i guess i might get one and have a proper look see - could always get one with the 40 quid i'll be getting from GAME for taking far cry back (jeez, i'm still bitter at how bad that game is)
     

Share This Page

Loading...