360 graphics any better on a SD Plasma via VGA as opposed normal SCART??

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Mickey123, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi

    I have read another thread re a CRT tv so posted a diff topic as min relays to my Plasma as so probs generates a diff result.

    I was going to buy a composite board from my plasma, a pany 6 series as I heard even though it is not high def the graffics will be better -

    Firstly is this true?

    Secondly, won't the included VGA port do just as good a job as a composite board and so cost me nothing?

    Mickey
     
  2. thefunkygibbon

    thefunkygibbon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    i would say that the vga would do just as good job as composite for SD. you might get slightly darker/lighter resaults but that tends to be dependant on screens and games.

    improvement over Scart, i'd say would be pretty good, but not as good as the jump from vga SD to vga HD.
     
  3. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks mr Gibbon :thumbsup:

    I honestly didn't think it would make a blind bit of difference re using a SCART or a VGA on an SD TV. Im pleased I have now found out the VGA is better.

    Im working on the HD side of things. Looking into an 8 or 9 series 50" panny cash permiting:rolleyes:

    Thanks for the reply mate

    Mickey
     
  4. thefunkygibbon

    thefunkygibbon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    i've not actually seen the differences first hand so you might wanna wait for someone to reply with first hand experiance. i'm basing my opinions off of the fact that scart rgb is clearer than svideo and svid better than composite. it stands to reason that vga should be better. but i guess it all depends on the TV's VGA board etc... it might excel at scart and be crap at vga
     
  5. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    I have the 7 series panny and can tell you with certainty that vga is far far superior to composite.

    It also costs you nowt.:smashin:
     
  6. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hello darve

    Its more comparing VGA to SCART as opposed to composite

    Costing nowt a plus - haha:D

    Im taking it if ever I do scrape enough money together for an HD screen VGA is still the best way to go so it is future proofed as far as my system goes??

    Mickey
     
  7. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    VGA is still a lot superior to even RGB scart.

    I have RGB scart going in to a scart terminal board from the sky box and vga from the 360, the vga looks loads better.

    As for future proofing, vga should serve you well for years to come. If you happen to get a HD screen that doesn't have VGA then component is pretty much the same quality and you can just use that instead.:smashin:
     
  8. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cool,:smashin:

    The panel I want is another panny just an HD one so it should have VGA.

    Im working out my cable lengths as we speak.

    I need alot of extension as I have my seperates in the other room and out of the way.

    Think on top of the MS VGA im going to need a 7 meter cable for it to reach!!
    Idea being I plug the MS VGA into another VGA thats alot longer.

    Any recomendations to a good make?

    On that note, is the end of the MS VGA cable male or female??
     
  9. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    VGA would be fine for your next screen then.:smashin:

    As for cable makes i'm not sure cos i've never had to buy one. 7m is quite a long way so it's worth investing in a good one. Try a search or ask in the cable forum.

    The end of the vga cable is male I think, it has the pins in it.:confused:

    You probably know anyway but you'll need to use an optical lead for the sound in to your amp.

    When you get it all set up, set the 360 to output 720p and be amazed. The pannys scaler does an excellent job of scaling it to native res and the 6 series is generally regarded as one of the best sd plasmas you can get.

    In fact it looks so good you may reconsider whether you need a HD screen after all.:smashin:
     
  10. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks tons for your advice:smashin:

    Yep if it has pins its a boy:) Its important for reasons such as two male cables won't plug into each other (obviously) Yep, cables are homophobic :rotfl: Female to female is no go either boooooo - Ill stop now before I get kicked off:rotfl:

    I think I will stick with my 6 series and like you say, decide whether I need HD or not just yet.

    Does watching DVD via the 360's VGA imporve those as the DVD quality or is it the same as SCART.

    Sorry re all these awkward Qs:suicide:
     
  11. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    :rotfl: Homophobic cables, whatever next.:D

    I used to have a Sony all in one system that went in via RGB scart and the 360 beats it hands down.

    It also upscales the picture though I forget to what resolution.

    It's so good that I was gonna get a component board and dedicated dvd player but after seeing the picture via the 360 it's simply not worth 300 quid.
     
  12. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like VGA makes a worthy difference

    Im looking forward to giving it a try.

    Just need a reply to what cable to buy and then a day off to fit it all.

    Thanks again, you've been a big help:smashin:
     
  13. thefunkygibbon

    thefunkygibbon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    doesnt really matter.. just buy which ever vga cable you find...
     
  14. chaddy

    chaddy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +66
    a have a Phillips 42" (can't remember the model number) and it only has
    1x scart (rgb) 1x scart 1x s-video and 1x VGA.
    Have set the xbox to 1280x720 and its amazing such a difference, even the upscaling of the DVD looks better then my DVD player.
     
  15. rhodos

    rhodos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +157
    I also confirm that VGA is fantastic at 720p on the SD pannies. Absolutely superb mate and you'll be struggling to tell the difference tween it and 720p on a Pio 435/436 - I promise :)

    PS. Absolutley wallops any RBG or Comp picture.
     
  16. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ive just found out that with the VGA cable you cant get 1080i.

    Does this make a big diff? I appreciate everyone saying 720p is superb.
     
  17. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Not really cos 1080i is 520 lines that alternate where as 720p is 720 lines all the time I think.

    The pannys look better fed 720p either way so I wouldn't worry about it.:thumbsup:
     
  18. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
  19. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    TO THE OT

    WRONG FORUM!!!!!!!!

    (caps intended :))

    Ask in the plasma forum, they know everything (no really they do)
     
  20. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Does this mean you have seen the light and bought an xbox 360 as opposed to just waiting for PS3? :eek: The Playstation fans really are begining to widen their horizons. Welcome :)
     
  21. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have seen the light YES!!!!:thumbsup:

    I havent bought a 360 yet but it is iminent (if thats how you spell it:rotfl: ) Just looking for best deal I cen get so not rushing

    I am trying hard to get the best results on my 6 series SD 42" pany.

    :D
     
  22. RPD_UK

    RPD_UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +21
    I'm no M$ fan but the 360 is ace !!

    The games coming out for it in the Autumn are looking simply awesome !! :thumbsup:

    I'm also looking at the Panasonic Plasma's right now.

    The new PHD9 is out soon and the old 8 series were praised as some of the best around - even the SD ones - so if i can get a good deal i may be joining the very long Panasonic owners list !!

    Alot of people seem to prefere VGA over Component on these screens too.

    The Monster VGA Cable is supposed to give a slightly better picture - especially noticable on large screens.


    NB: By the way its 'imminent' !! :)
     
  23. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    @ RPD UK

    Eveyone seems pleased with the 360. I suppose when you look at the fact my PC gaming graphics card ward was £250 alone how could you not.

    Gaming PCs are now behind me, it was either them of the wife and the analogue wife still has alot of features that my PC dosent, IE, hoovering, making T etc etc (please note, don't try this on a southen regoin model, only the northen ones come with such programs:) )

    We got our panny 6 series 42" just as the 7 series were coming out and so got a canny deal on it.
    I don't really know that much about the AV scene but how can I put this, I know quality when I see it!

    I don't think you'll be disapointed with any Pany.
    Just choose a few simple options like Budget, HD or SD, screen size.
    Buy it form a reputable specialist dealer (not currys) and then your laughin even if you get a dud and lets face it, any firm who makes a million items makes the odd one with a prob, it can't be helped hence a reputable resaler, not necessarily the cheapest.

    As said, Im a northener,and so as tight as can be. (well, you can get a house up here for the price of some of these plasmas:D )

    I like value for money so that doesnt necessarily mean the best. IE if I can get a cable thats %85 for £25 I wont pay another £25 just for another %15 diff if you get my drift. I get greater satisfaction of getting the best system I can for the most resonable outlay as opposed %5 better pic quality. (hope you get my EGs with all these percentages)

    LOL




    AAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG -
    DAMN FORUM - STOP SAYING IM EDITING MY POSTS WHEN NO ONE HAS REPLIED BELLOW!!!!!! iT DOSENT MATTER HOW MANY EDITS AS LONG AS IT IS BEFORE ANY REPLY
     
  24. mminghella

    mminghella
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,067
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +34
    I recently went from comopnent to VGA on a Samsung non HD plasma and the results were amazing. It was a cheapo ebay cable too!
     
  25. KlaatuNinja

    KlaatuNinja
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    This is me exactly, had enough of buying expensive g-cards all the time.

    I also find I tend to get more play out of console games than PC one's. I know PC games are cheaper, but I tended to just buy more and have too many 'on the go' at once.

    I am so looking forward to Mass Effect, the trailer on the marketplace is awesome!!
     
  26. RPD_UK

    RPD_UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +21
    Thanks for the reply.

    I've never used my computer for games - as i have been a Mac user for 16 years. Sitting infront of my computer playing games never really appealed to me - i need my sofa and at least 32 inches (of screen) to keep me happy !!


    You can't beat an 'analogue wife' - about time i found one really - or i may have to go 'digital' - and we wouldnt want that !! lol


    So you say there are "Just a few simple options!!".

    If only !! :eek:

    My head is so full of facts and figures about all this stuff that my specialist subject on Mastermind would currenly be 'anything to do with HD/SD screen technology and related media'.

    How sad is that !!

    The Panny screens are still high up on my shopping list though - along with about 176 other options...!! :D


    Expensive cables are a controversial issue. Some swear by them. Some swear at them. It seems you are in the latter category. lol

    I actually do have some on my (quite high end) HiFi and they do make a small difference - but audio is a bit more fussy about quality of connections imo - so its more justifiable.

    Thats what i keep telling myself anyway. :)
     
  27. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey mate,

    I totally agre re sitting at PCs playing games. I much prefer the sofa and beefy 5.1 with as big a screen as I can afford. Its just more relaxing that way to me.

    I think you've mis understood me re cables. I like expensive cables, I just like ones thats value for money. IE if the best cable is £50 and a one thats 3/4 as good is £25 ill pick the later. If your not carefull you can end up well over budget on everything as you can always get better.

    Mate, the choice of a screen is easy.

    1 - Get a pany (you won't be sorry)
    2 - Get HD (you wouldn't know all about it if you didn't want it)
    3 - What size do you want/can you afford if the answer is the biggest!
    4 - This years or last for a bargin (might be to late for 8 series panys)

    And whats your answer? Well, when you find out post it and some of the Gurus (not me at all) will say yes or no

    I like to keep life simple and theres just too much choice. I just pick a reputable brand and shop and never worry about terraflops (ps3 speak) or whatever tech jargon. Mind you, many here thrive on it but its there tech knowledge that helps me so I ain't knocking the AV geek:rotfl:

    Just:smashin: my view on AV life
     
  28. ganymide

    ganymide
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am new to xbox360, if xbox 360 has HD port, why don't we connect from xbox 360 to HDTV Toshiba 42WLT66 with HD-to-HD cable instead of HD to component or HD to VGA?

    For Toshiba 42WLT66 which is the best option connect to Xbox 360.
     
  29. Mickey123

    Mickey123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Geordie thro n thro!
    Ratings:
    +6
    ^^^^^ The 360 has its own unique port NOT an HD port reconised by any other manufacuter so for EG you cant just wack a component lead into your 360.

    So, for a further EG - I had to get an MS 360 to VGA cable.

    Reason I used VGA is because my plasma has a VGA port built in and to get another HD port would have cost me around £70 for the HD card for my plasma.

    What ever port your display device has, you need MS 360 lead to that.

    Hope this helps
     
  30. ganymide

    ganymide
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for quick reply, but one of xbox site figure showing xbox 360 back side it has HDMI port, but my one not (not sure whether i have to remove xbox 360 existing cable to see HDMI?). what you said is correct, but not sure why that fig. showing HDMI port on back of xbox 360.

    Last night i connected xbox 360 to my HD TV with component (on HDTV side), but picture is just black and stripes and not clear, but immediately removed without adjusting in display section, today i'll try and change to 1080i if it permitted.
    If not i will buy xbox 360 cable HD to VGA, my Tosh 42WLT66 has VGA port, I found many users mentioned VGA will give good resolution, performance than Component, i may go for currys one selling for £15 to £20 one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...