36" widescreen or 42" rear projection

C

Carvis

I'm looking at getting a new tv, just wondering what people thought was better rear projection or a standard widescreen. and if anyone had an recommendations.
Sound is not important as I have a sony strdb940 amp, so I'm only interested in pricture quality.

thanks

I'm no expert on this, but I'm thinking about getting a rear projection myself so I've been looking into it a bit. So far I've found out that no rear projection unit will have a better quality picture than a standard crt widescreen, so if your after the best picture don't go for rp. I think the rp can have a narrow viewing angle so you have to sit at the right height and angle to the screen. They also come in bloody huge cabinets which look like they'll be overbearing in the average living room. You can get LCD rear projection unit which have a smaller cabinet however.

That said, the most important thing I'm looking for at the moment is a large screen, so I still fancy a 42 inch rp. Its just a matter of trawling through all the reviews to find which ones have the best picture quality.

I have a 40" Tosh RPTV and the picture quality from a digital source, particularly DVD is superb, it's as good, if not better than any CRT TV I've seen.

John

I had a panny 36 crt and it was a great set except it had the "moire" effect with an ntsc source. I got this replaced with a Tosh 42 RP. I personally think this is a better set. the picture is fantastic for dvds. As for tv, well I still have the old aerial and the picture is fine for me. The viewing angle is ok unless you are looking up or down on too much of an angle or too much to the side. if i was you I would get the Tosh RP. The larger screen makes up for the tiny tiny difference in pic quality. And I mean TINY. HTH